Firewall (not) working or windows problem?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Degine, Oct 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Degine

    Degine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Hi,

    I'm using Windows XP SP2 32bit and for the past 2-3 days a warning message keeps popping up from Window's security center claiming Eset Personal Firewall is disabled. When I check ESS everything is green, the firewall looks to be enabled and I don't see any problem. I've tried rebooting several times, disabling and enabling again, switching from interactive filtering to automatic filtering mode and back several times but no change. I've checked and unchecked Eset Personal Firewall from my network connection properties several times without effect, Windows still claims it to be unprotected.

    Still Internet Explorer is blocked when it tries to connect to the internet so it does seem to function, Windows just doesn't notice.
    (I always use the temporarily allow setting when I NEED to use IE so it's supposed to do that. ESS doesn't pass any leaktest I've tried when you just always allow it or use automatic filtering)
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hi,

    I've hade this problem as well whit the windows security center says that ESET firewall is off, but now the last 3 days no problem, seems to work OK at the moment anyway.
    But it maybe comes back i don't know, but i do know that i think it is pretty wierd behavior and i don't want the problem to come back.

    P.S I've been posting 2 thread's about this problem in the ESS forum but NO answer on some of them, so i don't know ESET maybe don't care about this problem, but now when YOU as well got the same problem they maybe wakeup and look this way. Anyway im very dissapointed that i diden't get a singel answer from a moderator or anybody else. D.S
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Eset monitors this forum. I am sure they look at the problems users are having because this is what beta programs are for.

    For Eset to answer every single posted problem is probably not to be expected.

    Keep posting your experiences and have patience.
     
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    HI Ronjor,

    Ok we will gladly be wating here for an answer from Eset at somepoint,
    thanks for this answer anyway Ronjor :)

    P.S This diden't happen in the earlier ESS Betas just the current RC1 D.S
     
  5. Degine

    Degine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    For me, I didn't have the problem untill the in the past few days. Anyway I set Windows to ignore the firewall status.
     
  6. Degine

    Degine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Well the problem seems to be gone now, if it was because to an update, thanks Eset, if not then uhm thanks PC I guess:p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.