Firewall Log

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by encus, Dec 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Hello Eset.

    I was wondering why ESS doesn't log all the firewall activities by default o_O .

    Thank you.
     
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hello encus

    (I know you asked eset, but i hope you don't mind my feedback )

    This is just a guess encus, but if you log all firewall activity including blocked connections, then you probably would run into problems showing the log in the gui, because of the size of the firewall log. Furthermore, if you shall use the log to troubleshoot a issue, then you will stand with a tremendous firewall log, giving yourself a hard time.

    Regards, Janus
     
  3. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Thanks Janus. I certainly don't mind getting a feedback from you.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I enabled logging of all blocked connections to troubleshoot a connection issue and forgot to disable it. After a few weeks the log had grown to more than 1 GB. Needless to say that frequent logging has impact on the performance as well.
     
  5. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Hi Marcos.

    You made your point. Thanks again for your answer :thumb: .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.