Firewall Issues with Epson SX600FW

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dajackson, Jan 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dajackson

    dajackson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I am running Eset Smart Security v4.0.474.0 in filtering mode and have an Epson SX600FW Multifunction Printer Scanner setup using a wired network connection.

    I can use the printer without issues when the Eset firewall is switched on, however I am unable to use the scanner.

    If I disable the Eset Security firewall I am able to use both the Printer and Scanner.

    The message I recieve from the Epson Scan software is:

    "EPSON Scan cannot be started.
    There May be a problem with the network settings."

    As I have said, Disable firewall - all works okay.

    Anyone seen this before / have any ideas?

    I am using Windows 7 x64 with latest Epson drivers
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I'd try adding the printer's IP address to the list of addresses excluded from active protection (IDS) in the zone setup. Should the problem persist, enable logging of all blocked connections in the IDS setup, reproduce the problem and post back the relevant records from the ESET firewall log.
     
  3. dajackson

    dajackson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, thanks for the reply.

    I have tried your suggestion and added the Printers IP as an excluded address, this has had no change. I spent quite a lot of time troubleshooting this:

    The printer also has a utility for 'Epson Scan Settings'. I have found that this fails to connect when first opened but if I click the 'refresh' button once the program has loaded and I have confirmed the Firewall warning, it will connect, however the Epson Scan application fails every time.

    The warning ESET is producing is as follows:

    Application : EPSON Scan
    Publisher : Unknown
    Remote Computer : 255.255.255.255
    Remote Port 3289 (3289) - This changes

    Advanced Options show:
    Local Port : 50039 - This changes
    Protocol : TCP & UDP

    I have selected remember action create rule, however it appears that this application is connecting on slightly different ports every time!?

    From my limited knowledge of Networking, 255.255.255.255 is a broadcast address!?

    As requested, here are the firewall logs for the time I was trying to get the scanner working. I'm not sure if these are anything to do with it though..

    15/01/2010 20:15:09 No usable rule found 192.168.1.37 239.255.255.250 IGMP System
    15/01/2010 20:13:12 No usable rule found 192.168.1.37 224.0.0.252 IGMP System
    15/01/2010 20:11:01 No usable rule found 192.168.1.37 224.0.0.252 IGMP System
    15/01/2010 20:10:59 No usable rule found 192.168.1.37 224.0.0.251 IGMP System
    15/01/2010 20:09:02 No usable rule found 192.168.1.37 224.0.0.252 IGMP System


    192.168.1.37 is the IP of the PC I was logged into
    192.168.1.35 is the printer which does not show on the log at all?

    Any ideas? - Thank you for your help!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.