Firewall interactive bug? - fight for install...

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v4 Beta Forum' started by dorgane, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    hi,
    a lot of bug for installing...

    #1 :
    I try upgrade ess 3.0.672 french -> ess v4 (all x64)
    the web protect don't run and antivirus/antispyware is orange...why? i don't know...

    #2
    I try repair...crash...file windows/xxx.msi don't found :doubt:

    #3
    Uninstalling + delete all folder "eset" + registry clear
    reboot, install....run ...but default settings (advance don't finish installing...)

    Configure, switch firewall in interactive mode
    start messenger, iexplore and ...wait...wait...again
    404 error, no connection...
    switch automatic ok ;)

    Why I haven't message for allow connection? o_O


    thank you for support.
    Sorry bad english :/
     
  2. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Do you have any other security products installed?
     
  3. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I have all normal MS patches installed on Vista *86 Business.
    When Firewall is in interactive mode, it will not even open up Firefox, IE. The process starts in processes, but noting loads on the screen.

    In automatic mode, it all works fine, loading up web browsers etc.
     
  4. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    No,
    Vista SP1, no re-try, interactive mode don't say message for allow/block connection...i use automatic mode for access internet :(
     
  5. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK

    That appears to be correct at the moment. I have SP1 and do not get any messages asking to allow or deny a connection, when in interactive mode.
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    In your signature, you mention that you are a user of a program called USB Disk Security.

    Can you try uninstalling this security software and see if that makes any difference?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  7. dorgane

    dorgane Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Posts:
    362
    I disallow usb disk security (delete key startup) before installing ess v4.
    I have uninstalling v3 ess + delete folder + clean registry


    I have :
    Vista SP1 basic x64 bits (ess 4 x64)

    in start up :
    CCleaner (cleaning at startup)
    Xfire ( www.xfire.com - game messenger)
    Eraser ( http://www.heidi.ie/node/6 )

    I just retry again...don't say message :'(
     
  8. bjevers

    bjevers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Iowa
    I have the exact same problem running Vista x64 Ultimate SP1. The firewall will only work in Automatic. I had it in interactive and nothing could connect, but I did eventually get a popup to allow Xfire, but that is the only one.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    the same at my system. the inbound connection of msn-messenger gave a popup but nothing else.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.