Firewall doesnt work

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by aido, Jun 13, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    Hello,

    in the last few days everytime I reboot I got an message from Security Center that the ESS Firewall isn't activated. If I reboot three or more times after than that works fine. Its a generally problem from Eset-firewall? - Because I am ready to kick this software out of my window!

    Windows XP Pro SP3
    All updates installed

    Thanks for answers,
    aido
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    No errors in the event log. This is my problem I am a little confused. I think this is an Eset-Problem.

    Sorry for my bad english!

    aido
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    did you try reinstalling Eset? Do you have the latest version?
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Any other security apps on your computer?
     
  6. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    Oh yes sorry:eek: , next to Eset I have PrevX full version on my PC. I forgot to tell you last week that was the same problem but not with the Firewall instead of its was the Antivirus- and Antispyware deactivatet. After 3 x reboot solved the problem:(
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you make a change just before this started happening?

    Is ESS the only antivirus program you have used on your computer?
     
  8. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    No I work for some months with Eset. And yes I had before Eset installed McAfee. But Im sure the System is clean. All drivers and services was removed with autoruns.
    In the last week I have updated my System over Windows update with the new security Updates from Microsoft.
    When it passed with the anti-virus problem, I wrote to the support. They have me said I should delete the repository folder. After then the problem solved. And now that comes again. I cannot delete everytime if I got this problem, the repository folder. Its not the best solution.

    I think I will uninstall PrevX first. If the problem doesnt comes again I will post here the solution or tell PrevX for the incompatibilities between Eset and PrevX.

    aido
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds good aido.
     
  10. aido

    aido Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    32
    Hello,

    at first thanks @ronjor for your help:thumb:
    Now I have uninstalled PrevX and I think the problem was solved. It seems so, that during Startup scans PrevX the Startup programs and blocks shortly the Eset driver.

    aido
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the feedback aido.

    There are some ESET users posting in the forums using both programs together sucessfully. I'm not aware of the details of their systems or why it doesn't work for you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.