Firewall comparisons

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by bluekey23, Aug 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bluekey23

bluekey23 Registered Member

Hello,
    I've been a ZAP user for some time, but after the company recently sold it seems as if their fw isn't as dependable as in the past. In the past I never had any problems with any of the upgrades. The last two ZAP upgrades have caused me nothing but problems. Judging by what I've read in other forums, I'm not alone. So, I'm thinking of switching to another firewall. I was wondering if any of the regulars and experts here might be kind enough to share their views of what they think is the best fw now available and that compares favorably with the previous ZAP(circa 4.5 and earlier). My main concern is security and having some degree of user control. I have no experience with setting rules for my past ZA, but would be willing to learn. Also, have their been independent reviews done of the main firewall products which are now currently available?
    Thanks and looking forward to your feedback.
    (WinXP/h/sp1)

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Why not just stick with the ZA Pro 4.5..594 version. It is stable and it's security is just fine. It will still work even when your subscription expires. I use it and am not interested in the bells and whistles in the later versions, and in fact asked if there was any reason to upgrade. The gurus on the ZA forum said no.

3. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

4. se7engreen

se7engreen Registered Member

If you're used to the ease of ZA, then Outpost would be a logical step up. It's a user-friendly firewall with enough flexibility for the advanced user. Outpost has a pretty good following and you should be able to find plenty of documentation and help if you were to need it.

5. profhsg

profhsg Registered Member