FireTune for FireFox

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Antarctica, Jul 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    I wonder if someone experience the same thing as me. I did download and install
    this add on for FireFox and I can see a big difference. It is much, much faster... :)
    http://www.totalidea.com/freestuff4.htm
     
  2. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Are you using DSL/Cable.......................i am thinking it won't improve Dialup.....FF speed tweaks have been around for awhile
     
  3. K Meleon is faster than Firefox on my setup with or without Firetune.
     
  4. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Rainwalker,
    I didn't know it had been around for awhile, I just discover it the other day. And yes I am using cable.
     
  5. stryder83

    stryder83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    I also use FireTune for FireFox......increased my speed quite a bit. I may be wrong, but it does this by caching files in RAM rather than on the hard drive (temp folder) or in VRAM.

    I do think it would speed up dialup for the essential reason dialup would still cache files regardless...but the speed difference wouldn't be as noticable as let's say Cable or DSL.

    FF tweaks have been around for quite awhile, but the earlier ones were rip offs and didn't do much. I didn't look into it too deeply, but I believe the removal of using a temp folder for caching is fairly new.
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I use Moox, a speed build of Firefox.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2005
  8. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Blackspear................i tried that once and had to remove it..........problems...............i am sure i installed the correct version.........as i recall there were a few offered. I am wondering what that Antarctica post does in fact do :doubt:
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Same version that I use as well. No probs to report. :D
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    i might try it again, but 1.0.5 is even faster the the last official release.. which was faster then the one before :)
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    His next release may take awhile as Moox has a lot on his plate right now. But he did say he would try to get builds out for 1.0.5 when it became available.

    Keep your fingers crossed. ;)

    Jag
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.