Firefox's massive overhaul moves to beta

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lotuseclat79, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,782
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    is a bit limited but a good starting point

    i always end here with a fuzzy search
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/

    or you like this list
    https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/collections/mozilla/featured-add-ons/

    ok, found a replacement for "magic actions..."
    https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/magic-actions-for-youtube/
    -> https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/enhancer-for-youtube/

    nice feature since v57 - you can add/uninstall to test out without having theses remnants before because all settings of extension are no longer stored in prefs and delete after uninstalling. (like chrome(ium))

    thats the advise i can you (all) - do some research - you probably find a proper replacement for now, but the # is increasing.
    i dont really cant bear this fud about firefox any longer without any triage.
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Excellent.
    Wish I could find a replacement for 'FaviconizeTab', but so far unsuccessful. One just gets so accustomed to some add-ons.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    that can not be done any longer with an extension - denied. you have to use userchrome.css. one of the major changes.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,782
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Firefox 57 Beta 4 released September 29, 2017. Available via Internal Updater (6.7 MB - 64-bit).

    The Firefox Beta page's Download button downloads Firefox Installer.exe (300 KB).

    The Download Firefox Beta in your language page still downloads 57.0b3.exe's 32-bit & 64-bit versions @ time of post.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,869
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Actually, it seems that all I needed to do is to enable auto-play again, so I'm guessing certain players like the one from Ooyala changed something. On certain sites I'm still having problems, but I'm not sure if FF is solely to blame. Will soon switch to FF 57, let's see what happens.
     
  8. ABaird3

    ABaird3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    48
    Just me, or did the beta 4 version change bookmark folders to grey?
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I am in Firefox 56, and see the change of color in bookmark folders. :)

    Bo
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    they are grey in beta-2/3 also. but not in my bookmarks toolbar folder - yellow as usual.

    update: beta4 now show also grey folder icons.

    solution:
    create a "chrome" subfolder in your profile and insert a "userchrome.css" with code:
    https://www.camp-firefox.de/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1049886#p1049886

    Code:
    @-moz-document
    url-prefix(chrome://browser/content/places/places.xul){
    
    treechildren::-moz-tree-image(container) {
      list-style-image: url(folder-item.png) !important;
      -moz-image-region: rect(0px 32px 16px 16px) !important;}
    }
    
    @-moz-document url-prefix(chrome://browser/content/browser.xul){
     
    .bookmark-item[container="true"]{
      list-style-image: url(folder-item.png) !important;
      -moz-image-region: rect(0px 32px 16px 16px) !important;}
    }
    
    "folder-item.png" is the old style in v54/55, put it to userchrome.css

    about rect
    https://developer.mozilla.org/de/docs/Web/CSS/clip
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 1, 2017
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I like the gray color. This is what folders look like in my Bookmarks sidebar (Firefox 56).. Isn't everyone seeing the gray folders in Firefox 56.

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2017
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    those prefs are still working

    default values:
    browser.showQuitWarning;false

    browser.tabs.warnOnClose;true (here: false)
    new
    browser.tabs.warnOnCloseOtherTabs;true (here: false because annoying when closing tabs to the right/left/other)

    yesterday i also tried to use some userscripts - awfull. put some screipt here and there, insert there and there.
    the result: it dont work and i could not open about.config page and some more bugs

    could be beta4 but at least those userscripts are intruding firefox not the normal way and always need fixes to get along with current firefox, from my view waste of time.

    For now "Tab Session Manager" and this one will be a good replacement for "Session Manager"
    Undo Close Tab Button :: Add-ons for Firefox

    and some also created "OneTab" (modified) from the chrome Store
    OneTab-modified :: Add-ons für Firefox
    i need to check out if it saves its state, thats matter of some of my extensions i tried to convert.
    its a pretty nice replacement for Tab-groups

    my current list that far
    search latest creations
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fi...type=&cat=&platform=windows&appver=57.0&page=
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    I had been trying https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/undo-closed-tabs-revived/?src=ss. But trying https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/undo-close-tab-button/ now
    Nice find: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/right-click-link-new-tab/

    Edit: Strange thing. I had this set to true: browser.tabs.warnOnCloseOtherTabs;true and it was warning me, and it is still true. But now it's not warning me - I wonder if one of the new add-ons is interfering.

    Found it. It is the Undo Close Tab Button. S'pose it kinda makes sense, you can always reopen a closed tab from the list. Personally, I would prefer it wouldn't ignore the about:config setting, especially because it did warn once, so it is intermittent.

    Also intermittently not working in another profile now, without that add-on, so unpredictable here. :confused:
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017
  16. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    running that too. i have similar for chrome because it opens a new tab instead using same tab.
    alternative: "tap to tab" which can use left double click or middle click to open links in new tabs.

    "one-tab modified" is crap, that far i came myself - it do not store the save tabs so restart means blank = nothing.
    in chromium it stores the tabs.

    btw please no full quotes
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,844
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Centre clicking (scroll wheel on my mouse) opens links in a new tab.
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Apologies.
    It doesn't on all mice apparently, not mine anyway.
     
  19. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,158
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,403
    Location:
    USA
    I kept meaning to respond to this and kept getting pulled away from it... It seems that re-enabling auto-play fixed the YouTube issue, but no others. Progress made I guess. Weather.com still freezes and crashes Firefox. I really want to move to 57 but LastPass has no working add-on for it.
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,782
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. Firefox 57 Beta 5 released October 3, 2017. Available via Internal Updater (7.0 MB - 64-bit).

    The Firefox Beta page's Download button downloads Firefox Installer.exe (299 KB).

    The Download Firefox Beta in your language page downloads 57.0b5.exe's 32-bit & 64-bit versions.
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    There's talk about it in the LastPass forum with claims it will be ready when Firefox 57 is released, but no official announcement AFAICT. Since Firefox has been accepting web-extension add-ons for quite some time I have to wonder why LastPass appears to be so late to the party? Hard to imagine that they won't have it working for v57 release though; that will be a disaster for them.

    https://forums.lastpass.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=271845&hilit=firefox 57&start=40
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,403
    Location:
    USA
    They used to be on top of this stuff but since the company has changed hands they have slowed down and doubled the price. I expect it will be ready when 57 goes final but I was hoping to update sooner. I have 57 on my work machine and would like to move my personal ones. If it's not ready when 57 is released I expect some people will be looking for a replacement.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,869
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To clarify, I was using FF v50, all sites do work correctly in FF 57, but I didn't want to disable auto-play to avoid screwing up things. But speaking about FF 57, I was disappointed. Most of my extensions are not working yet, obviously RAM usage is higher because of multi-process, I wonder if this can be turned off. No tab-based bookmark/history/download manager like in Vivaldi. No ability to put tabs on bottom, no ability to open tabs in background via middle-click. Browsing does feel a bit faster, but I'm guessing it will take 3 to 6 months before I can make the switch.
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,582
    Location:
    USA
    In v56 there is a Performance section under General Options where the content process limit can be set to "1".
     
Loading...