Firefox8 and ESET Smart Security

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by scook94, Dec 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scook94

    scook94 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I was really hoping the latest version for ESET would solve the problems of certain sites taking an age or simply failing to load with ESET 5, but alas the issue remains. I gave up waiting for bbc.co.uk/news to load after a full 5 minutes! (Stuck transferring data from static.bbc.co.uk)

    I realise the issue is probably with FF as I don't have problems with Opera or Chrome, but surely the onus is on ESET making a product that's compatible with all browsers?
     
  2. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    ESET is fully compatible with all versions of Firefox. Is your browser connection speed any faster with ESET completely uninstalled? Are you using ESET Smart Security 5 or ESET NOD32 Antivirus? Have you attempted to reinstall Firefox?
     
  3. scook94

    scook94 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Yup, if I disable "web access protection" I have no problems with FF8. But that's not really ideal is it? As I said it's only certain websites, but it's such an annoyance that I'm on the verge of dumping FF entirely.

    ESET Smart Security, latest version but it was the same on 5.0.94.0 there are other threads highlighting the issue but no resolution.
     
  4. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    As shown, I'm FF 9b5 and ESS 5.0.95: My 1st attempt appeared to be stuck in the loading page loop; I then Deleted "news" from the URL and the Main BBC site Loaded fine; Clk'd News tab and it loaded; Now your original URL loads every time.

    Try what I did and see if anything changes. Can't explain why sites/Browsers/Apps do us this way but it's working for me now.

    Good luck.
     
  5. bwb1

    bwb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    I use ESS5 with FF8 and have no problems whatsoever.
     
  6. scook94

    scook94 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    If you stop it loading and then refresh it will also load okay... for a while.
     
  7. scook94

    scook94 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks, that's really helpful.
     
  8. scook94

    scook94 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
  9. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    I had the exact same problem and ended up reverting to ESS v4 and my browsing speed is back to normal!
     
  10. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    I haven't had this problem personally, but I do know that firefox has an automatic virus scan feature. Has anyone tried to disable that feature to see if browsing returns to normal?

    The article is called Firefox crashes when attempting to perform a virus scan
    and although no one is reporting outright crashes, I still wonder if this could be playing a part in the reported performance issues.

    [Note]

    I know that FF uses the default AV program to scan, just don't know if somehow the efforts are being duplicated. o_O
     
  11. tommy456

    tommy456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    137
    Firefox 8 eset have issues on xpsp3 but not on win7 sp1 on my pc (dual boot) the ssl scanning part of eset blocks all secure sites bank's ect, as well as firefox addon updates, the only way to work around it is to disable ssl or add ff to list of programs that are not scanned
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,045
    Location:
    USA
    That only runs when you use Firefox's built in download manager to download a file, after it is finished. I disable it because it is a bit redundant but it should not affect actual browsing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.