Firefox Speed Tweaks *** WOW!! ***

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LockBox, Jan 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    I had not come across the Firefox speed tweaks that were posted tonight by SolarPoweredCandle (props to you!) in another thread. It will be buried there and it deserves its own thread. If you are using broadband, and Firefox as your browser, get ready for a major speed increase. Here you go:

    Open Firefox..instead of a URL....type about:config

    look for :Network.dns.disableIPv6

    Double click to to toggle it to 'true' and then restart Firefox. You should notice a speed increase, page to page.

    The next tweak really seems to be the one that makes Firefox fly:

    Not intended for dial-up users!

    Open Firefox..instead of a URL....type about:config

    Find these options, double click each one and change to the following values:

    network.http.max-connections: 48

    network.http.max-connections-per-server: 24

    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy: 12

    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server: 6

    network.http.pipelining: true

    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests: 8

    network.http.proxy.pipelining: true


    After changing the values just close Firefox and open it again.

    Enjoy the speed!!!!!

    Thank you Solar Powered Candle for pointing me to the site with these tweaks! What a difference it has made. Firefox is now even better and I didn't think that was possible!

    Gerard Morentzy
     
  2. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just did the firefox broadband tweaks and there is very noticeable difference :D
    and I thought it was fast before

    bigc
     
  4. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  5. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    For some reason I cannot get the add-on to install.
    I have the page in the "allowed to install" category.
    The add-on goes to the desk top as an .xpi file.

    How can I get it into FF?
    What am I doing wrong?

    Still very hot down here, may be slowing the brain rhythms as the brain (such as it is) shrinks.
     
  7. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Works for me, loading this forum has sped up quite a bit.
     
  8. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    you can backup your firefox user.js file. than open your user.js file and paste the tweaks at the bottom, making sure ff is closed when you do it. or you can type about:config in the address bar and do it manually.
     
  9. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Longboard, ;)

    Make sure you have "The Allow Websites to install Software" checked & that the URL is included in the Allow list, "update.mozilla.org" is the entry needed. (See Attachment)

    HTH, ;)

    Steve

    Ps. If you need/want to change back to the default settings Manually.

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2005
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,748
    Location:
    Texas
    You can also save those xpi files to disk, close Firefox, and doubleclick the file to install.
     
  11. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I am using these settings for several month's now, except this one:

    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests: 8

    my setting for this one is: 24

    No clue if this is right or wrong or doesn't matter.

    Somebody any idea?

    Cheers,

    Gerard
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    gerardwil Mine is set at 30 but 24 is just fine as long as it is working well for you

    bigc
     
  13. Firefoxguy

    Firefoxguy Guest

    30? Heh, I think the maximum is 8 or 16 I can't remember.
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    It's 30
     

    Attached Files:

  15. firefoxguy

    firefoxguy Guest

    No offence, but where this you get your screenshot from? It looks just a comment added and the way it's written doesn't inspire confidence :)

    You need to look at the nsHttp.h file in the firefox source. It's set by default to 8, unless you compiled it differently.
     
  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    here is where the settings come from, and regardless it works really well at 30
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2005
  17. Firefoxguy

    Firefoxguy Guest

    For references to why you shouldn't set this variable above 8.

    See

    http://lxr.mozilla.org/seamonkey/source/netwerk/protocol/http/src/nsHttp.h#96

    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=53650&postdays=0&postorder=asc&postsperpage=15&start=0

     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Thanks for the info but with my connection speed and the bandwidth I have to play with my settings work very well. I believe I will keep them since the max number of request's settings depends on who's settings info you are looking at at the time.

    bigc
     
  19. Firefoxguy

    Firefoxguy Guest

    Fair enough.

    I always thought that these tweaks speedups experienced were mostly (but not 100%) psychological anyway :)
     
  20. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Firefoxguy I will appoligize if I am wrong and this time I am wrong. The max usable setting is 8. But in all reality with broad band it really does open sites and render pages qiite a bit faster

    bigc

    sorry about that, never to old to learn. And I really do appreciate the info.
     
  21. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
  22. Firefoxguy

    Firefoxguy Guest

    The interesting thing about these tweaks I think is that you almost never hear about the drawbacks. There's this comment by one of the firefox developers why such tweaks are not default and it looks to me some of the problems seen here

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=58414 ,appears to be a result of overagressive tweaking of firefox.
     
  23. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    The tweeks that the thread starter provided have definitely provided a faster
    browser experience with no issues on my system. ( they are not psychological tweeks)
    There havent been any detrimental results spoken of in this thread that Im aware of yet ( apart from your concerns ) . So far they have increased speed remarkably .
    Some people told that these setting may hammer some servers.
    Changing the "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to max of 8 will probably solve the problem.


    edited to fix quote tags - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2005
  24. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Some of the gains provided by such tweaks are indeed a win/win, for server and client. Pipelining appears to be one. Why make both the client and the server send say 4 messages when the data within them would fit in a single message. Client and server have to manage less packets overall. (win/win)

    Other tweaks could easily be draining to a server, especially when they involve accessing resources faster on a busy server. For example, if max connections are a limit that throttles (slows down) the transfer between one broadband user and a server, then more resources may be available for other users hitting the same server. But if one high speed user makes 50 simultaneous connections to a server to draw many pages objects at the same time, that's a lot of server resources going to that one user. So, what happens to the 100 or 1000 or 10000 other users of that server when this one user is getting stuff faster?

    Servers don't have infinite capacity. If a server is a busy one, and some users tweak their settings extremely high and perhaps hold many connections open for some period of time (as larger objects transmit over the Internet to the client) then that is less connections open for other users to get the attention of the server.

    Of course, it is a lot more complex than these simple thoughts, but you get the idea... For some to go faster when talking to a server that is generally busy, then others must go slower because server resources are finite. :doubt:
     
  25. dog

    dog Guest

    LOL ... Sorry LWM, I'll stop continually "refreshing/reloading" Wilders' :p ... I guess have a Dynamic PoEEE connection, doesn't have a stealth effect, if the server logs accesses with user IDs & IP addresses. If this is so ... Sorry for the bandwidth load ... Just send me the bill ...

    If on the other hand it only logs with IP addresses ... "I Didn't Do It!" :p :D :ninja:

    :ninja: *puppy* :ninja:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.