Firefox quietly "contacting"Google?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by squinteyes, Oct 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. squinteyes

    squinteyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I'm a life long nube who's always used ZoneAlarm as my firewall.I recently replaced ZA with Sygate 5.5 free and was looking through the traffic logs and noticed that Firefox was contacting Google and Google was replying.Is this normal?

    I created an advanced rule to block IP addresses 72.14.xxx.xx so on and 216.239.xx.xx so on.It seems to block the communication between the two but I don't know if this is something common with Firefox.

    Any ideas?



    Windows ME
    Dial-Up
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Do you have gmail extension installed?
     
  3. squinteyes

    squinteyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    No I don't use that. The only two extensions I use are AdBlock and Quick Preference Button.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have Firefox configured to use Google's list of phishing sites?
     
  5. squinteyes

    squinteyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I have it checked for the first option, "To check using a downloaded lists of suspected sites".

    Does this list come from Google as well as the second option you can choose?
     
  6. GideonD

    GideonD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    It could possibly be the search box as well. When you use search function in 2.0 it automatically starts bringing up the most common matches as you type. It has to get those matches somewhere so I'd assume it's contacting google at some point if that is your selected search provider.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    More than likely since Google was involved in the design of the filter.

    http://wiki.mozilla.org/Phishing_Protection:_Design_Documentation

    Also from the firefox help file.
     
  8. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Unfortunately yes, at least for RSS feeds. See http://www.legroom.net/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=215
     
  9. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i have a ssl connexion to google sometimes when firefox starts up, i just had it when i started ff afew minutes ago. but, i just block it and haven't bothered checking where it comes from. i'll try to remember to check what's happening next time.
     
  10. Hyperion

    Hyperion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Posts:
    302
    Thank God i saw this topic.I was going insane.I was using ZAF.Today i switched back to Kerio,and here is my log:

    http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/464/logek9.png


    All addresses resolve to Google Inc. And this even if i have UNCHECKED the antiphishing filter. :ninja:

    P.S: I don't use Rss feeds.Never click on them,don't like them.
     
  11. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    this is the connection i have -

    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser.safebrowsing.provider.*.keyURL

    i think it's to do with proxomitron (it causes mismatched certificates), because the dns resolved to one of my feeds - leoville EDIT i wasn't really looking very closely, what i saw was sb-ssl.google.com and leoville using the same DNS

    you can disable it by doing this -

    type about:config in to the address bar
    then paste this into the filter bar that's just below the tabs
    browser.safebrowsing.enabled

    then double click it so it goes to false

    so what is it then o_O
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2006
  12. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i really don't like google or firefox very much. i'll just use opera instead. i've only been using firefox for about 3 weeks, and i don't like it.

    so is it something built into the browser? or is it something else? i can't find anything about it o_O
     
  13. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i just asked at irc.mozilla.org. this is what it is -
    so when i said it resolves to leoville, what i ment was sb-ssl.google.com and leoville were both querying the same DNS :D
     
  14. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    They better rename it to 'GoogleFox 2.0', is it becoming a closed source program?
    Too much google will ruin this browser once and for all. This is not open source software but 'open the door to google' software. :thumbd: :'(


    Lamehand
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.