Firefox & Opera at the same time ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ~*Nat*~, Jul 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Hi, :)

    I was wondering if it's OK to run both browsers at the same time ?

    Anything that speaks against it ?

    Sometimes when I click something, my default FF browser pops up, while I'm
    using Opera.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It should be perfectly OK to run Firefox and Opera at the same time, since they are based on completely different rendering engines and have different profiles. If you are not having problems, then why worry? :)
     
  3. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    It's perfectly OK to run both browsers Natascha. I do that all the time and haven't experienced problems with it. :)
    You answered your own question, because Fx is your default browser and those commands are only performed by Fx. ;)
     
  4. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    FF checks if it's the default browser, this can be changed in your settings under preferences.You just uncheck the box, that might do the trick.
     
  5. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Have no problem running IE7b3, Opera9 and Firefox2b1 together :D , so I guess there should be no problem for the release versions...
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can change that via explorer > options > folder options > extension types
    I am not sure if I wrote the correct names in English
    Look for any types there that still uses FF for opening and change that to Opera.

    Gerard
     
  7. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    THANK YOU Guys ! :)

    If You have no problem, and I don't seem neither, then let's surf with them both till we drop !! :D


    SSK: ;) Are you sure you counted ALL of the browsers you possess on your puter ?? ;)

    Talk about someone's obsession.....lol ! :D :D
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I sometimes use both plus IE. No pronlems.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    User of IE, Opera, FF and Minefield here :)

    Gerard
     
  10. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Well....................... I forgot to mention Opera Mobile on my Nokia N70 :D :ninja:
     
  11. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Why are you guys using (or want to use) multiple browsers?
    .....no criticism intended - just curious. ;)
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    good question. opera and IE or firefox and IEtab would be sufficient for me.
     
  13. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    I use both, because I like both browsers. :)
    However I use Opera most of the time.
    It still is my favourite browser. ;)

    Guess it's difficult to chose between those two. :D
     
  14. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Just to play with ;)
    Like FireFox 3

    Gerard
     

    Attached Files:

    • ff3.gif
      ff3.gif
      File size:
      27.1 KB
      Views:
      229
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    oh! so thats what minefield is...
     
  16. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    o_O ...I'm afraid you guys lost me... o_O
     
  17. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ooooohhhhhhhhhhh.... new software! :D

    Time to play.... :)
     
  18. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    IE -> only for "troublesome" sites not working well in Opera / Fx
    Firefox -> set up as safe browser (lockdown) / test
    Opera -> day to day use.
     
  19. yahoo

    yahoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    290
    Location:
    nowhere
    IE-->Windows Update
    Opera-->day to day use
     
  20. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I many times have all three, IE, FF, and Opera up and running at the same time: absolutely no problems.

    IE, for the above reasons others have stated.

    Opera, for when I want sheer speed.

    FF, my workhorse. :cool:

    Acadia
     
  21. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Well OK...I see your reasoning why some of you run 2, 3, 5 or 6 browsers at once. (lol) :D

    I mainly asked because I was afraid it may cause some kind of conflict or something.
    But obviously not. I only noticed a little slow-down from time to time.
    Maybe it's my AVAST, scanning the web for both browsers ?

    I use FF when I don't have the pages that I desire to look at in Opera ~
    and the same goes for Opera..... :p

    It's harder to concentrate though. o_O
     
  22. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I use Opera as my default browser, I also Have Firefox on my computer and of course IE6 and the all get a long. I could try Netscape or any browser that I wanted just as long as I don't put them in the same folder. Sometimes I can't get a image to show in a certain web page in Opera or Firefox. But works with IE, I just use the Firefox extension for IE pages and presto. I get a image for that web page in Firefox.
     
  23. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds

    Very nifty ! I'm going to get it too !!

    I also noticed that when something on Opera doesn't work,
    and I open up FF, it then works. Hmmmm.
     
  24. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Instead of getting this Firefox extension for IE, why don't you just get Netscape Browser which uses both the Firefox and IE engines? On certain websites, Netscape is smart enough to use the best engine. Otherwise, you can switch between the Firefox and IE engines at any time by using just a small tab.

    I do advise you to read the EULA for Netscape before installing it though. The EULA contains stuff that people may or may not like, so if you're OK with what the EULA says, then enjoy Netscape.

    I personally use SeaMonkey for almost everything except Windows Update and (rarely) troublesome sites (for which I use IE)
     
  25. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    8,129
    Location:
    Germany/Ohio-USA ~ between two worlds
    Firecat,
    I have to still think about maybe getting Netscape.
    Not sure if I'm able to read the probably 20 pages long EULA.
    Unfortunately I've got a short attention span...not being too lazy to read though. :doubt:

    This Seamonkey sounds interesting. But when I read a bit about it, it sounds like more for "Advanced" users. Not sure if I explain it right. :doubt:

    Can ANYBODY use it, or is it best for novices to leave it alone ?? :p
    Now, another naive question. If I dl Seamonkey, will I have to uninstall Opera...Firefox FIRST o_O o_O

    Sorry....but I have no idea, lol.
    I sure would love a browser that almost "does it all", hm ? ;)

    Pls let me know...I'm really curious about it !!! :eek: :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.