Firefox is not the default browser message!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Apr 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Firefox is not the defaut browser message!

    I get this message everytime that I open Firefox, which is the only browser that I use. I have the box checked which says "always check to see that firefox is defaut browser. You probably know the one, but I will capture a screenshot just in case, to supplement this.




    -HandsOff

    I meant to add that Windows Vista Home Premium is the operating system. I am not very familiar with Vista.

    This may be part of a larger problem with default programs in general. I am about to write a separate post concerning that.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Run the Firefox installer again as ADMINISTRATOR.
     
  3. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)

    You just need to Un-Tick the box that says...

    [] Always perform this check when starting Firefox

    Then click.. Yes - or - No .. Depending if you want Firefox to be your default browser or not ;)

    Zeena
     
  4. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    @ Daveski17: I am always an administrator. I am always doing something that requires being an administrator, so I gave up trying to be a lesser computer user.


    @Zeena That sounds deceptively simple, and yet I have a feeling that you may just be right! Thank you!


    -HandsOff
     
  5. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    It may be the registry key is corrupt.

    If you use Run, type Regedit, and then navigate to this key:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\RegisteredApplications]

    check is you have:
    "Firefox"="Software\\Clients\\StartMenuInternet\\FIREFOX.EXE\\Capabilities"

    If not you could manually create the key:
    Right click, new, string value and call it Firefox
    Double click it and enter in value data:
    Software\\Clients\\StartMenuInternet\\FIREFOX.EXE\\Capabilities

    The above may help. A few time in Vista & Windows 7 the Registered Applications key has become empty, which seems to cause it to ask for a default application every time.
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    The UAC on Vista often seems to need you to deliberately run .exe installers as ADMIN though.
     
  7. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    This message (I assume) is generated by Firefox. As Zeena suggested, simply unchecking the box was all that was needed to get the questioning to stop, and as far as I can tell firefox is the default browser.

    Where there does seem to be a problem is in a lack of clarity.

    The message did say that Firefox was NOT the default browser didn't it? But it does seem as though it is.

    pjb I am holding some hope out for your registry key solution! I will PM you!


    Thank you all for taking the time to respond!
    -HandsOff
     
  8. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Update!

    I just checked the the registry location you specified and the only program that was listed was XnView. There is no other registered software?!?

    ----------

    Also, I added the string Firefox and entered the data. I will reboot and see if things have improved any!

    -HandsOff

    ---------------
    Updating again!

    This registry data certainly helped. I am wondering how to go about registering programs that have been tricky with regard to overlapping of territory, namely iTunes, Quicktime, Windows Media Player, Media Player Classic, PowerDVD and of all things IconWorkShop. But just look! Now I have two registered programs!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.