Firefox hangs with Sandboxie

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by WilliamP, Feb 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I am using the latest version of Sandboxie and the latest Firefox on XP Home Edition. I have a lot of problems with the page freezing when I try to move up and down or I click on something. If I go into FF outside of Sandboxie I don't have the problem. Is anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,085
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi William, I am not having any kind of problem in either of my two computers regarding Firefox and SBIE. The only time that I ever seen anything like what you are describing was when the antivirus or web guard that I was using or testing had developed some kind of conflict with Sandboxie.

    Ever since I stopped using antiviruses or anything else, I haven't experienced anything like what you describe. I remember Bit defender, Bull guard, Spyware terminator as being some of the worst in this regard. They made browsing impossible and very uncomfortable.To avoid this kind of headaches is one of the reasons why I stopped using real time scanners with SBIE.

    I saw your thread at the SBIE forum, you forgot to name the security applications that you are using along SBIE. Good luck.

    Bo
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Bill, for me, a tell tale sign that the scanner was messing up Sandboxie was if the sandbox took a lot of extra time to delete when I closed the browser or another application. Is your Firefox sandbox deleting fast or not? Is it taking longer to delete now that a week ago?

    Bo
     
  5. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Hello, William. I also had problems with Sandboxie and later Firefox on WinXP Home 32-bit, but I must add that this was inside of a Virtual Machine. Once I reverted to Sandboxie 3.76 everything has continued to work perfectly and I believe in that old adage: If it ain't broke don't fix it. If you are not using 32-bit then you can probably ignore this info plus again, this was only inside a VM.

    Acadia
     
  6. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    WilliamP,
    Do you use Foxit PDF reader as well?
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi kjdemuth, are you having problems running Foxit sandboxed? I run Foxit portable on both of my computers, always sandboxed, no problems at all. In Firefox, I have Foxit set to open out of the browser (within the Firefox sandbox), no internet access. Works really nice.:cool:

    Bo
     
  8. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    kjdemuth, no I don't even know what Foxit is.
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Bo,
    yes I was having issues with the latest foxit. Not really the program itself but the plug in for firefox. I had actually uninstalled most of the security programs to figure out what was doing it. I figured out that it was the plug in for foxit. Once I disabled it sandboxie wasn't freezing up while running Firefox. This isn't the first time a plug in has given me trouble with sandboxed browsers. The last time LastPass was giving me an issue before the updated it.
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    kjdemuth, one benefit of not using the plugin is that you can restrict Foxit from having internet access while viewing a PDF file.:cool:

    Bo
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    yeah I know. I was surprised that one little plugin would cause sandboxie that much problem. I actually switched back to Adobe reader since I'm using MBAM anti-exploit and testing the alpha. Never had a problem with adobe reader.
     
  12. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I have a friend who has XP and I tried Sandboxie on his computer and it freezes and won't work. So are you saying all I need to do is install an earlier version? If so would you care to sgare the setup file of the earlier version that works on XP?
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  14. culla

    culla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    504
    3.46 works for me on xp pro
     
  15. sdmod

    sdmod Shadow Defender Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    781
    Yes, me too, I've been using 3.46 since it's release without any problems on xp pro

     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    I have had this problem before. Try uninstalling/reinstalling Firefox and see if that helps.
     
  17. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Sandboxie has worked perfectly for me until I upgraded to Windows 8.1 and not a single version (betas and older/latest versions) has worked properly with Firefox since. Firefox opens okay, but freezes up after a few seconds and that's it. Firefox runs perfectly outside Sandboxie, so until the problem is fixed I can't use it.
     
  18. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    mrfargoreed, what AV are you using? I have a couple of friends using Windows defender along SBIE in W8, Firefox runs fine. If you are using something else other than WD, perhaps you like to give it a try. If you are using a web guard or something like that, it could be whats causing your problem. Read my first two posts in this thread.

    Bo
     
  19. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello WilliamP.

    SBIE 3.76 (32 bit) with Firefox 27.0 in XP Home Edition SP-2 runs fine for me. When I updated to version 4.06 I noticed a slowdown but no 'hanging' or 'freezing'. I have MBAM Pro with real-time protection and Malicious Website Protection active.

    To the best of my knowledge, XP Home users realize no gain when updating to a version of SBIE newer than 3.76 .
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie Version 4 does not officially supports XP SP2. Its probably better for you to keep using 3.76.

    Bo
     
  21. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    I was using MBAM, but at the moment I'm not using anything at all except Shadow Defender and the problem is still there. It's only been since using Windows 8.1. Up until then, Sandboxie had been perfect :( .
     
  22. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    On Windows 7 and XP, Shadow defender and SBIE get along well for me. Normally, I don't use both programs at the same time but when I have done so, its being alright. I doubt that using both programs as you are is causing your issue.

    I love Firefox so I wont recommend you switch to something radically different. You could try some of Firefox siblings and see how they behave in the sandbox. To make things easier, you can do that under shadow mode or do the installation in a sandbox. Thats probably what I would try.

    Bo
     
  23. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Yep, I've been using Firefox for god knows how long and couldn't switch now. I might give one of the variants a go as you say.
     
  24. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
  25. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    Thank you.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.