FireFox Hanging around

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Capp, May 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Hey everyone,
    I just noticed an irritant within firefox I wanted to see if anyone else was having any problems with.

    It seems to have started with the last update (1.5.0.3).

    I surf along, everything fine, but after I close out FireFox...I see it still running in the Task Manager. I fire it up again and get the "An instance of FireFox is still running, but not responding..." message.

    Anybody else notice this at all or know how to combat it?

    I haven't added any new extensions or anything.
    The only Extensions I have are:
    *TabBrowser (up to date)
    *Adblock (up to date)
    *Spoofstick (up to date)
    *ForCastFox (up to date)

    Thanks and hopefully I'm the only one :)
     
  2. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Do you use Adblock or Adblock plus?, have you tried stopping your extensions one by one to see what happens then.
    You could also run Firefox in safe-mode, non of the extensions wil be used then.

    Lamehand
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,752
    Location:
    Texas
    Capp

    I had that problem with some earlier versions. I haven't seen it in a while. Try Firefox in the safe mode and see if it still remains running.

    Firefox Issues
     
  4. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Yes a few times when I used CCleaner it said FF was still running. I checked the taskmgr and sure enough it was. I had to kill it from there.
     
  5. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Another thing to be taken in consideration is how many profiles are there, it may be possible one of them is corrupted.

    Lamehand
     
  6. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I use regular Adblock.

    I haven't tried disabling any of them because, as I stated, I haven't had any problems before this last upgrade.

    I just noticed the problem last night so I haven't had much time to fenagle with it like I would have normally.
     
  7. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Most of the trouble like you have are caused by extensions, so it is a good thing to start testing without extensions running.
    The fact that you haven't changed or added to your extensions doesn't mean anything in this case, you upgraded/updated the browser and that might have triggered it of.

    In addition you could try to upgrade to Adblock plus, it's supposed to be better then Adblock (so they tell me), maybe that will solve the problem.
    I can't comment on your other extensions because i don't use them and never have.

    Lamehand
     
  8. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I'll try that when I get home and see if that helps

    Thanks for assist :)
     
  9. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Don't mention it, i need help too, lots of it. :D

    Lamehand
     
  10. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    Best to raise Firefox issues at http://forums.mozillazine.org/index.php?c=4.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,752
    Location:
    Texas
    It's perfectly alright to raise Firefox issues or any other software issues in the software & services forum.
    There are plenty of Firefox users here that may be able to lend a hand. :)
     
  12. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Answers are almost always far more quickly obtained by posting in the best forum for particular subjects. Not to mention that the postings arte then more quickly shared by the developers, etc.

    In the case of anything Mozilla related, that's the relevant Mozilla forum.
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,752
    Location:
    Texas
    You are correct in saying you should post in the correct forum. At Wilders, software & services is the correct forum for Firefox questions.
    The Mozilla Firefox forums are an option for Firefox issues as well.
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I referred to the "best forum", not the "correct forum at Wilders", which is not the "best forum" for Mozilla questions.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.