Firefox...before the first page is loaded I already have a question

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by HandsOff, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Do I want to make Firefox my default browser? I don't even understand the significance of this.

    Am I wrong in thinking when I click Firefox i use firefox, when i click the blue E i get internet explorer?

    I'm sure there is a reason why they ask, however, i am going to be nagged with the question until I figure out the answer, or I make it go away and have to go through who knows what to change the setting myself.

    Come on guys, give me a break!



    -HandsOff
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you can find some info on default browsers here
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    here's some more - i think the significance of a browser being default is if you have something on your computer which needs to launch your browser, like a help file or going to the products web site.

    you can change FF asking by going to tools>options and unchecking the default browser checking
     

    Attached Files:

  5. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Thanks Iceni...only that exact same question is asked by IE6, at least firefox gives you the check now option, i think MS keeps you guessing...


    only...i thought i understood it this way: you check "check to see" on the brower that is NOT your default browser. This guesswork is supported by the fact that it is checked in firefox, but not in IE and for now IE is my homeboy.
    Maybe that's what you were saying and you left out "by" in unchecking the box


    But mostly thanks, because now I now where to find and change the setting so I can uncheck the hellish "ask me each time firefox starts" and relax...


    -HandsOff
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    it can be unchecked in IE too - tools>internet options>programs it's at the bottom of the programs options :)
     
  7. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    If you click a link in an e-mail, your default browser will open. Just another example.
    I played around with Firefox for a week or so, then switched it to default.
    The more I use it, the more I like it. :cool:

    Dan
     
  8. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    The only thing you'll really need IE for is Windows Updates.
     
  9. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I like the idea of an alternative browser, but I think I will try a few before I decide on which one. I'll know when I've found the right one when everyone in the crowd says it's the wrong one.

    -HandsOff
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.