Firefox and Yahoo Games

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WilliamP, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    My wife likes to play Spades on Yahoo Games. Firefox doesn't like it. It will lock up or throw her out. She looses points and she doesn't like that. She blames my security programs. I have posted on Broardband Mozilla forum and tried replacing my Java and re-downloading FF but to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions? She likes FF because it is faster than IE.
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    when u redownloaded Firefox, i assume u uninstalled/reinstalled Firefox correct? did u also remember to delete the old profile?

    as for Java, are u using JRE version 5 or the beta version 6?
     
  3. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I went in and replaced profiles when re-downloading. I have Java 1.5
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    1) do the games work with Internet Explorer?

    2) try using a new profile with Firefox.

    3) lastly, u could try using the version 6 beta 2 of java.
     
  5. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    1] They don't lockup on IE but my wife said it is too slow. 2]I have tried replacing the profile. 3] Should I remove the Jre1.5.0_08 before downloading the new 6 ? Also do I use the online or offline download? Does it make any difference if I am in FF or IE when I download? Thanks for the help.
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    yes
    offline download
    no it doesnt matter
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Thank you my friend .I will give it a try.
     
  8. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I had the same problem when I installed JAVA online. So like W, I would suggest going with the offline installation!

    During the course of my troubleshooting I also noticed that there were some remnants of MS JVM, the now outdated Microsoft version of JAVA. The more recent versions of MSJVM ran very well...probably better than Sun's java, but there were major security flaws in some, if not all, versions. Anyway, I cleared out the MSJVM remnants, did an offline install of Sun's Java, and am back to playing backgammon on yahoo!


    -HandsOff
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.