Firefox and guard.exe - High CPU usage

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by Montoya, Dec 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Montoya

    Montoya Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Switching tabs in Firefox 2.0.0.1 results in a high CPU load (90-98%) of guard.exe. This high CPU load keeps on going for at least 10 seconds (and slows down my system) until dropping down to 0.

    With Ewido 4.0 I didn't had any problems with the high CPU load in Firefox when switching tabs, but after the update to AVG Anti Spyware I noticed that my system was slower browsing with Firefox.

    I have 3 PC's running with NOD32 and AVG Antispyware 7.5, and 2 PC's suffer from the high CPU load. Those 2 PC's are the slowest of the 3, running with Celeron1400 CPU's combined with 512MB and 1GB of RAM. My Laptop is an Intel Core Duo T2300 with 1GB of RAM and this machine doesn't suffer from the high CPU load.

    Update:
    Switching back to Firefox 1.5.0.9 results in NO CPU load (it remains 0 !!!) when switching tabs !!!
    So AVG Anti Spyware 7.5.0.50 works OK with Firefox 1.5.0.9 :D

    But what is the problem with AVG Anti Spyware 7.5.0.50 combined with Firefox 2.0.0.1 ??!! o_O
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2006
  2. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Dont know why you are getting this high output of CPU, I just opened firefox,while still having IE7 open,and tried to replicate your problem:

    guard.exe 11,980k

    avgas.exe 10,028k

    I'm going to take a guess here,but I might be wrong. Do you have Spy Sweeper installed? I used to have it installed, then i swapped to AVG Anti- Spyware ,and all my cpu's have dropped dramatically :ninja:

    NOD32 used to read as high as 47,000k now it reads 21,000
    Outpost used to read as high as 80,000k, now it reads 37,00k :ninja:
     
  3. mowhan

    mowhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    I got the exact some problem last week,but i dont need to swap tabs just starting up firefox causes my problem, then for some reason it went away,then this morning turned on my pc and i can't use firefox getting gaurd stuck at 99% cpu again very strange.

    Ive had to resort to using IE to type this if someone else is getting the gaurd stuck at 99% it cant be an isolated incident on my pc must be some incompatability with firefox maybe,though ive never had a problem before.
     
  4. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    We'll investigate in this problem it was sheduled for investigation and hopefully for a fix in the next release where we're working on atm

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  5. mowhan

    mowhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Any eta on the release of next build,few weeks or few months.

    I ask because i cant use firefox and i hate using ie7 no adblock, non script and others,also i noticed it happens when using my internet temporary file cleaner's like crap cleaner or cleanup windows.

    If it's a few months i'll uninstall and cut my loses even though i got 11 months left on my renew,need firefox back soon.
     
  6. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Sometimes this happens to me... But it's after I close AVG Anti-spyware completely... but for some reason avgas is still open... and it goes really high like that.
     
  7. mowhan

    mowhan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Can i at least get a reply to my post as when the eta to the next release is as i got a paid version of this software.

    I see some ewido/avg rep replies to choice post but not all,all i ask is a date as when the it will be fixed or am i asking to much.

    Ive had to uninstall avg antispyware so i can use firefox again

    All i ask for is for an answer to a problem which you admitted to in an earlier reply

    thanks
     
  8. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    For my issue which is with avgas.exe ... AVG.png

    I have AVG free edition, with no guard... and I have it X while AVG was open... Meaning it should have closed completely.
     
  9. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    I am sorry. We can currently give no eta since we don't know by ourselves when we'll have finished the next release.

    But we'll release as soon it is really possible. We have to fix some more things and have to make it compatible to Windows Vista.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Try Proxomitron with Sidki or Grypens filterset. It provides bullet proof adblocking and popup
    control. It makes IE7 almost as great as Firefox. Get both here about 2/3rd's fo the way down the menu : http://www.castlecops.com/forums.html..:cool:
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    Question to Ewido Representative - Ewido Please Respond

    I posted the below question a few days ago, but no Ewido representative has responded. Therefore, I am re-posting it now.

    Dear Ewido Representative,

    Can you please advise if the issue referred to in thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=913711 has been fixed in the current version/build of Ewido AVG Anti Spyware?

    Thank you,

    Chris
     
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  13. guest

    guest Guest

    Dear Ewido Representative,

    This is the third time I have asked this question and gotten no response. All I am asking is for you to indicate if a problem with your software (which you admitted to) has been fixed. A simple yes or no answer would suffice.

    Is anybody else having problems like this getting Ewido to respond. Is this indicative of how they treat their customers?

    BELOW IS THE QUESTION I HAVE NOW ASKED THREE TIMES WITH NO RESPONSE

    Can you please advise if the issue referred to in thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=913711 has been fixed in the current version/build of Ewido AVG Anti Spyware?

    Thank you,

    Chris
     
  14. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Same problem here. It takes almost 2min's for Firefox to load. My issue seems to be related to guard.exe using ~45% CPU while FF uses about the same. This is an on again, off again issue, but lately it's become a real pain in the ass.

    ...screamer
     
  15. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    My AVG Internet Security Suite didn't seem to have this problem, so it must then be the Guard exe as it isn't used by the Antispyware Component in the Suite. I don't think this helps anything, but I just thought you should know. I have recently sent a Support Ticket to Grisoft about whether or not the AntiSpyware Component uses Heuristic detection in RealTime, and they immediately responded with a confirmation. Have you sent anything to support about your problem?
     
  16. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Thanks Duke,

    No, initially I rely on the forums for help. If I can't get an issue resolved here, I will submit a tkt.

    ...screamer
     
  17. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.