Firefox and DEP

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WSFuser, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Is anyone successfully running Firefox with DEP fully enabled?

    When I tried, Talkback appeared. I guess Firefox crashed.
     
  2. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    I'm running:

    Win XP SP2, AMD Athlon 64 3500+
    DEP fully enabled for all programs and services except Windows Explorer
    FF 2.0.0.13 ABP,RefControl, Customize Google

    No issues here
     
  3. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    If i'm not mistaken, remove Talkback.
     
  4. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    I always uninstall Talkback
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    So its just the Talkback that incompatible with DEP?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    I was running FF with DEP (hardware supported) protecting all programs and had no problems with FF at all (XP SP2).

    I have since gone back to DEP for Windows programs/services only though due to some other programs not running correctly. I would have left DEP protecting all programs and just opted out the ones I needed to if DEP had given any indication that it was blocking the program, etc. but I only found out DEP was the problem by just trying opting the program out. I didn't need the extra hassle of one more thing to check if a program wouldn't work. I thought DEP was supposed to give a pop up when it blocked a program but I never got one.
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Yep. Default FF installation that is, i can't account for all extensions out there :D

    @Firebytes: WSFuser is talking about AlwaysOn i believe, which is only accessed by editing the boot.ini file. I think you're referring to OptOut, which you can choose from a GUI window.
    In AlwaysOn, there are no exceptions, software must comply.
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I use the default firefox install with talkback and have DEP enabled for all programs and services and i've never seen this problem.
     
  9. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    farmerlee, you're referring to this "enabled for all programs" right?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yup, i've enabled that setting ever since cpus started coming out with hardware DEP.
     
  11. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Ok, lets work with the picture then :p
    That option is called OptOut. Programs packed with certain, well, packers, will bypass DEP.
    http://blog.fabriceroux.com/index.php/2007/02/26/hardware_dep_has_a_backdoor?blog=1

    So, if you don't want exceptions, or some auto exception (which is wonderful from a security perspective), the best option is AlwaysOn. That is only chosen by editing the boot.ini file, substituting "OptOut" for "AlwaysOn" (after noexecute).
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=875352&product=windowsxpsp2

    There really isn't any whitelist, everything must comply. Opera does not run under this mode (ie, Opera does not run with DEP at all).

    One good utility to see what programs have DEP on is our good buddy Process Explorer. You have to add the column "DEP".

    It is in this mode, like DEP really on, that Firefox won't open with the talkback extension.

    On a side note, i took that pic from MS site, and if you look at it you will notice that message on the bottom
    This means 1 of 2 things: your CPU really doesn't have the NX-bit, or that option isn't enabled in the BIOS (it happened to me anyway).
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2008
  12. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  13. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Latest "stable" Opera version is 9.27. I tested Opera 9.50 Beta 1 and Process Explorer says that DEP is on. 2.0.0.13 Firefox (Default installation) DEP is on too.
     
  14. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
  15. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Ah, so next Opera will be compatible, but the present stable is still incompatible?
     
  16. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I didn't test that :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.