Firefox Addon to "Focus" on the Root Domain?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by firzen771, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Opera 11 and IE both have the ability to kind of "focus" on the root domain of a websites url, is ther an addon for firefox 4 that emulates that functionality?

    thanks ahead of time.
     
  2. Bambo

    Bambo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Posts:
    194
    Or linkify every segment of url with option of clicking any of them? I can remember 2 for this, Smart Text https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/smart-text/ and Locationbar 2 https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/locationbar²/ Last one is made by a Mozilla developer but somehow manage to break other features current version of Firefox 4. Have not even tried Smart Text, also seems a bit outdated or not so eagerly maintained. Once used to feature it is hopeless to browse without so if you find something better then post it. Pretty sure Locationbar 2 is the one to nag for updates but he should know already. Is probably waiting for final Firefox.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for the links, its too bad they dont support FF 4 beta yet.
     
  4. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  5. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Not exactly an add-on but...

    top_proxo.jpg

    ...just an other little thingie that Proxo can easily do for you! :D
     
  6. Bambo

    Bambo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Posts:
    194
    Locationbar2 seems to work again with 4.0b12 from 02-04 - possible also with RC of beta 11. They removed the hover thingy from urlbar to add-on/bottom area. What broke it. The guy who make Locationbar2 is a Mozilla dev, think he is also doing the new hovered url at bottom code. So eventually it will work. They should include locationbar2 in Firefox. Really helpful for navigation and perhaps even increase security somewhat. Important to know where you are, draws attention at least.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.