firefox adblock plus subscriptions vS ad muncher both necessary ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by demoneye, Jan 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    HI

    is it necessary to use both ad muncher + fire fox ad block + (subscriptions) ??
    coz its seems ad muncher block the crap faster than firefox adblock plus.

    what u guys think?
     
  2. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Just add firefox to your filter targets and you will be fine. No need for ab+ then.
     
  3. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    what do u mean? add firefox ?? ad muncher filter the url with out any adjustment

    and ad muncher cost $$$ ab + zero ;)
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I use both but with a twist. I use the standard Ad Muncher setup with up-to-date definitions. But I also use ABP with Element Hiding Helper to block a few things that still come through. Element Hiding Helper is incredibly easy to use and I highly recommend it if you have some issues with ads and don't want to write (or learn how to write) filter rules. (I do not use any other filtering set with ABP besides Element Hiding Helper.)
     
  5. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    doesn't using both make heavy on load pages or browsing speed?
     
  6. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    I dont recommend ad-muncher ,if u have correct mozilla addons.because ad-muncher tough very good at blocking ads, gave problems when loading flash and using scrips in browsers in several webpages.

    After adblock+and filtersetupdater no ads at all:thumb:
     
  7. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    If it does, I don't see it. When I use my laptops on a T-1, things are similar to other machines I see on the network.
     
  8. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    u can always exclude web pages from being filtered
     
  9. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    didn't say it slow the browsing mate , just a logical remark :)
     
  10. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Then my exclusion list will grow dynamically and soon become more annoying than the popups itself .I have done away with ad-munch.I works great for IE though.
     
  11. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    and also for firefox plugin "ie tab" which adb+ doesnt have any effect on it :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.