Firefox 7

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Searching_ _ _, Sep 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    This surely is one of the best FF i have used.........i had switched to chrome recently, but with this version, i m going back to FF
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    My FF is still showing 6.02 as up to date. Are they sending it out a little at a time?
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,135
    Location:
    USA
    They haven't sent it out yet. Most people are getting it off the major download sites (Majorgeeks, etc.)
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,135
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! It says the Java Console is only compatible though 5.0* by the way.
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    OK thanks! I'll wait.:)
     
  7. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    That usually seems to be the case but there are now reports on the Norton forum that an update was released earlier today that makes the toolbar compatible with Firefox 7. No official announcement from Norton yet.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  8. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    I confirm that my NIS 2012 has just updated (run live update and it will ask for a reboot) and the Norton toolbar now works with Firefox 7 (version no. is 2012.2.0.2).
     
  9. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    Ireland
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  10. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,403
  11. Spysnake

    Spysnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    189
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,873
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    AAAaaaaaaaggggggggghhh!!!

    *sorry, glances around sheepishly after uttering a loud exclamation*

    I've 'lost' Webutation & Dictionary Search! :eek:

    Fx 7 looks fine apart from that though. :)
     
  13. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I knew you'd lose something, you always do :D
     
  14. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,878
    improvements

    but
    are the improvements only
    ?
     
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,705
    Location:
    Outer space
    Firefox 3.6.23 is also released, both also have security fixes, but the advisories haven't been updated yet.

    @mantra
    Changelog:
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,873
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah & it's always bloody Dictionary Search LOL! Back to WikiLook I reckon. Anyway, considering the amount of extensions I usually have on two computers & various flashdrives, losing only two isn't so bad. Webutation may update soon but I am not so sure about Dictionary Search. I have a feeling the developer's called it a day.
     
  17. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Anyone found firefox 7 crashes when using sticky passwords to auto login at certain sites?...facebook,and john lewis site being two of them of them.I reverted back to 6.02 and no problems.Upgraded again to 7 and firefox crashes when auto login with sticky passwords.Any users of both SP and firefox 7 can confirm? on windows 7 64 bit
    In fact attempting to run http://www.facebook.com/login.php from firefox address bar crashes the browser if sticky passwords is running.Exiting SP and everythings ok.Can anyone confirm?
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  18. fsr

    fsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    190
    Mozilla Firefox Significantly Reduces Memory Use to Make Web Browsing Faster
    More information here
     
  19. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,878
    thanks a lot!

    did not find such improvement , but anyway should be a good update

    is a video card and drivers dipendent ?
     
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,060
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    5,164
    Maybe I should do a fresh install. I dont really notice any difference at all with memory usage. Its about the same for me as its always been.
     
  22. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Mines currently using 188 megs with 3 webpages open :rolleyes: ,I don't see any improvement either...Does it make any difference whether its running on 32 or 64 bit OS?
     
  23. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,146
    That does seem a bit high. I haven't used Firefox in a while though.
     
  24. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I've got about 153Mb with 3 tabs myself, so far. That includes pages with Flash embedded. As long as I'm not seeing half a gig or something without a ton of heavy pages open, I'm alright. I need to find me a Flash block add-on though. I removed Noscript and decided to rely on ABP, Ghostery, and a new add-on I found called "Tracker Block", which seems to have far more trackers listed than Ghostery does. I'm not exactly sure if that means Ghostery is a lesser add-on or whatever, but I'll get that squared away.

    On topic, I moved away from Aurora and got on board the official release train. I got a little tired of downloading new updates every night anyway, lol.
     
  25. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Have more dan 20 addons but the browser feels more responisve than 6
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.