firefox 7.0.1 and nod v4 under xp, high cpu

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mantra, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    Hi

    i did notice a high cpu 70% consuming when i load firefox or when i shut down it

    and sometime when it's idle

    i tried to disable the webshield , but it did not solve it

    i tried to disable the file system ,and it solved the problem

    sadly there is not an exclusion option in the real time file system , there is only a global exclusion

    so i enabled the real time system , and i added the profile in the global esclusion and it solved

    but i'm not so happy
    i added %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\*.*

    i tried to add to the exlusion only the *.js but again it did not solve

    what does cause this cpu consuming? i mean which files

    this happen on my laptop

    on my desktop , i have w7 and nod5 and no problem at all

    on my laptop i want to keep xp and nodv4 last version , i want my laptop more stable as i can

    thanks
    cheers
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  2. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    You might want to specify which version of XP you are running on that laptop.

    I have a desktop running XP Home SP3 and I am not sure I see the problem you mention with Firefox 7.0.1, which I have loaded right now. It is a fact that most programs will use up to 100 percent CPU when loading and even when unloading. You may be using Task Manager to track CPU Usage and you can see when the usage goes up and down. Just now, mine was at 2 percent and then jumped to 33 percent. Then it went back down. If this is not slowing your computer down, I would not worry about it. If your computer is freezing or locking up, then that's another matter.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    i'm using xp sp3
    but eset kernel service consumes 60% of cpu , i don't talk about the program
    it happen with firefox , and with the exlusion on of the firefox the profile , eset kernel is 02% of the cpu o_O
    i would like to know which files does it cause this
    so i can exlude only some files inside the profile, to be more secure
    because this doesn't happen with opera,chrome , explorer


    did you try to run firefox ,shutdown , run it again shutdown and so on ? keeping the eset kernel cpu consuming ?
    i used process hacker
    thanks
    cheers
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2011
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Please create a ProcMon log at the moment the issue occurs, compress it, upload it somewhere and PM me the download link.
     
  5. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    I downloaded and installed Process Hacker 2 and I still don't have the 60 percent usage you are describing with Firefox 7.0.1. I had already tested this several times by closing and then restarting Firefox and the usage did not rise with repeated closing and restarting. It would probably be a good idea to do what Marcos said in his message.
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    how should i setup procmon ?

    7mb of *.js
    prefs.js
    sessionstore-1.js to sessionstore-8.js

    and 11 mb of adblock *.ini
     
  7. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Now that Firefox 8.0 has been released, try updating Firefox and see whether that makes any difference.
     
  8. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    yes i did it
    no difference

    i should exlude
    sessionstore-1.js to sessionstore-8.j

    and and 11 mb of adblock *.ini
     
  9. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    FWIW, I have Firefox set to clear my history every time I close the program.

    The sessionstore files I have are onlly a few KB. All my sessionstore settings in about:config are defaults. My adblock files are about half the total size of yours. Other than that, I can't say why your experience would be different.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Just run Process Monitor, it will start logging automatically after you confirm the initial filter setup dialog.
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    i have never used
    filter ? ekrn.exe ?

    thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.