Firefox 57: an overview of what's new (with resources)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by summerheat, Aug 25, 2017.

  1. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Firefox ESR will keep version 52 until June 2018, I hope most of the add-ons will be ready for Quantum then. :'(
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    This probably deserves in it's own thread, but given your disappointment, you may also want to have a look at this, though it is development software:
    https://www.ghacks.net/2017/11/17/pale-moon-team-releases-first-version-of-basilisk-browser/?_m=3n.0038.2082.jv0ao05qpb.264h

    Obviously you will forego security and speed improvements brought by FF 57.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2017
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,213
  4. fmon

    fmon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,155
    Thank you but I think it's not possible to create NoScript or Download Status Bar with Stylesheets. :shifty:
     
  5. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,213
    So?
     
  6. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,948
    Extension developers have been pre-warned about this transition for several months and if i recall noscript was indeed cited as being 57 ready a few months back.However i find noscript not as relevant as it used to be as ublock origin is better and has not just script blocking but adblocking built in.
     
  7. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,055
    After logging in as "paul" and changing of a setting in about:config, it will change the file prefs.js of the user "paul" ("...\paul\AppData\...\prefs.js"), and it doesn't affect the file prefs.js from the user "paul2" (...\paul2\AppData\...\prefs.js")
    = changes in about:config are per profile
    c:\Users\paul\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\<...>.default\prefs.js
    c:\Users\paul2\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\<...>.default\prefs.js
    The settings are dependent on your installed version of Firefox and are modified accordingly.
    If the "basis is changed" (new firefox version has been installed), and they decided to remove all legacy add-ons in this new version, all profiles are affected.
    This doesn't mean that Firefox is changing settings in all user-profiles right after installation, but it is only changing settings as soon as you have launched it.
    = If you have never logged in as user "paul2" since 2 months, and haven't launched Firefox as user "paul2", a new installation of Firefox hasn't modified the settings of this user.
    But as soon as you launch it as user "paul2", settings will be removed or modified in this profile.
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Thanks @mood. I only have one user, but I understand it now. :thumb:
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,864
    I can't use 57 until they clean it up more... I get extremely high cpu usage on something as simple as watching Hulu or Netflix... it floats up between 50-70% the entire time, totally unacceptable. Googling reveals that others have noticed the same issue... I'll stick with Chrome for now till they fix it. Prior to 57, I actually was getting the smoothest video with Firefox compared to the others... Something ain't right... :)
     
  12. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,098
    Location:
    Da mean streets of Brooklyn
    Well, I HAD to try Firefox Quantum after letting it go months ago. It's fast but not virtually instant like Internet Explorer (usually) and RAM use is also somewhat higher than IE w/five or more tabs open. Biggest beef was with the fonts. Tried adjustments in about:config and thru browser interface. Tried this add-on, forgot its name, and then discovered it isn't yet compatible. Anyone get the fonts to look less crummy?-- believe me, I tried. Below: a sample of IE and Firefox 57 respectively. Yuck!

    ie fonts.PNG
    ff fonts.PNG
     
  13. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,213
    http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=14777585#p14777585 seems to bring joy to some users.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,864
  15. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,158
    In such cases I would try what I suggested here. This removes any remnants from legacy add-ons that might cause problems.
     
  16. Sealord

    Sealord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    Refresh Firefox
    Be careful, since it affects all settings not just remnants from legacy add-ons. As you rightly say in the link, also customizations. Very important to back up the profile especially file prefs.js where configs are saved. If there are a lot of customizations, the result could be more than you bargained for.
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,864
    Thanks @summerheat but this was a clean install of 57 on a clean install of Win 10 1709. So there wouldn't have been any remnants from prior version, etc....
     
  18. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    usa
    I'm trying to find the following replacements for Firefox 57:
    Better Privacy,
    Bluhell firewall,
    Click&Clean,
    No Recourse URI Leak,
    Privacy Settings,
    Random Agent Spoofer or User Agent Switcher.
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,844
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    This no longer needed in FF 57.
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,844
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,869
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Then how to do it? But again, it should have been a standard feature. So far no sign of extensions like Tab Mix Plus and Classic Theme Restorer. Which makes FF 57 unusable for me.
     
  22. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2017
  23. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    ublock!
    Click&Clean <- firefox itself (ctrl+shift+del)
    Random Agent Spoofer or User Agent Switcher <- umatrix

    logical and consequent: uninstall
    (again)

    but you probably ask and read in the wrong forum!
    https://www.google.de/search?q=tabs bottom 2017 site:forums.mozillazine.org
     
  24. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Read Creating. You need to create a folder and name it chrome inside your Firefox profile folder. In there, you create a text file and name it userChrome.css, copy and paste the line you see below exactly as its written, and save the file as css, not text file. If you save it as a text file, it wont work.
    http://kb.mozillazine.org/index.php?title=UserChrome.css#Creating

    @namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

    Below the line, copy and paste:

    #TabsToolbar {
    -moz-box-ordinal-group: 21 !important;
    }


    The end result.


    Sin título.jpg

    Bo



     
  25. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    tabs are somehow futile -> "Tab Center Redux" but TCR dont include context menus from tabs, pity.
     
Loading...