FireFox 4 Is Ready and available for Download!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Warlockz, Mar 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Grabbed it and I must say WOW this new UI looks wonderful. I now have so much more space to read the website in the UI. I am really liking it so far.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    I especially like the part where it goes down every time you refresh, not the most accurate of measurements :D

    The count on the download site seems more accurate.
     
  5. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Thanks for the link, I was wondering where I could find the download stats.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,157
  8. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,198
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
  9. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    If you set the updating of addons to manual, is it still possible to see the changelog in the update window like in 3.6?
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye u can check release notes thru auto update as well
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the heads up. I like it! :)
     
  12. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
    seems alot slower than v3 and i don`t know why but i had 6 plugin-container.exe`s opened with no flash runnin whatsoever...(only a wilderssecurity tab was opened) got back to v3. waiting for v5 ;)
     
  13. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    That's odd. I am running ff on an older Dell which took an average of 22 seconds to load FF V3.6 cold and now it loads in 17 seconds cold with V4. Once it's open V4 is really fast for me. :)
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    it seems very fast for me as well.

    so far, i'm pleasantly surprised with FF4. :thumb:
     
  15. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Wilders is the only tab open for me as well, and I see no plugin containers at all in my Sandboxie list.
     
  16. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    Did you try with a clean profile?
     
  17. Francis93

    Francis93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Posts:
    311
    Uninstalled the old version (3.6) without removing my customizations and settings. Then installed Firefox 4. :D
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Unfortunately, some of my extensions still wouldn't work even after disabling compatibility check, so I'll have to stay with the previous version for now.
     
  19. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I uninstalled some extensions & updated 'over the top' of the old. Everything seems to be fine. Not too keen about NoScript in the GUI as opposed to the Status Bar though. Mozilla beat MS for me as I haven't had the IE 9 update yet! Nice one Mozilla. :thumb:

    C'mon Micro$oft ... I only live about eight & a half thousand kilometres from California ... ;)
     
  20. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i've been trying out FF4 all day and i think this is gonna be my new browser after being on Chrome for 2 years.

    for the past week we've been blessed with 3 great releases: IE9, Opera 11.10 and FF4 today.
    i tested all 3 extensively and FF4 seems to be the best of the bunch, *at the moment*.
    but it's very close and the competition has heated up.

    today, the browsers "scene" is a lot more exciting than it was 2 weeks ago! :)
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Add NoScript to the new addon bar, its sort of a status bar. Enable
    it in "toolbars", then add NoScript to the addon bar. You ll have NS
    exactly where it was before.

    Or
    Maybe you want to take a look at this addon. If you install it you ll
    have something like the old status bar.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/status-4-evar/

    Bo
     
  22. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yeah, Fx 4 is going to be a winner. I'm very impressed. I've just upgraded on my desktop now. :cool:
     
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK Bo, thanks for the information. I'll check it out. :thumb:
     
  24. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    Seems great so far
     
  25. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.