Firefox 3.6.11

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by NICK ADSL UK, Oct 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  2. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Anyone knows how to disable Mcafee scanner with installation of flash player , always have to uninstall it by Revo after update is done.
     
  3. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    i never download adobe flash from their website. they make you download their download manager and other crap.

    just go to filehippo.com and download it there.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    yep thats what i do, i subscribed to the filehippo email newsletter about updates and once i see a flash update i just download it from filehippo, nice and easy and no crap
     
  5. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Thanks, I'll do that from now on
     
  6. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    We need to change this now to...

    BloatFox 3.6.11

    Cause this thing just keeps sucking the ram! :thumbd:
     
  7. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    172Mb here with this website and some heavy Flash streaming open. I hardly call that "sucking up RAM".
     
  8. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    Dude, this is Wilders. The lamentation and wailing begins with any app running more than one 12K process. :D
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  10. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Nice!:thumb:

    I'll wait a couple of days because FF has recently been repatching the patches of late.
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    You can always use these links, they are clean installers without McAfee or Adobe updater crap.
    ActiveX version(Internet Explorer)
    http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/current/install_flash_player_ax.exe
    Plugin version(Firefox, Opera, Chrome etc.)
    http://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashplayer/current/install_flash_player.exe
     
  12. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    do you guys know how and where to change the flash settings?
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    wutsup, see Managing the Flash plugin in Firefox.

    Now, if you are asking about using Firefox to reach the Flash Settings Manager, the info on that page will show you how.
     
  14. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    ok thx jrvejo. yea i was talking about the flash settings manager. is there a way to acces this from within firefox settings? or do you have to go to that website everytime?
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    wutsup, yes, that Adobe site is the only way to go. Bookmark that page for later reference!
     
  16. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Hi JRViejo, there is also this thread on Wilders that lets us set up a config file that does as well if not better than visiting the Adobe site (IMO):
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=284280&highlight=flash

    I posted my set up there, and at least on the face of it, it seems to be doing just fine though confirmation or comments would be useful as to the utility of this route.
     
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    vasa1, yes, I'm aware of that thread, however, not knowing the technical expertise of Member wutsup, or any other Wilders visitor looking at this topic, the Adobe site usage suggestion to tweak Flash settings would be more than adequate for a newbie.

    Should wutsup want to try a config file, then the Randy Abrams tutorial, depicted in that thread, is a good start.
     
  18. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    Very true :thumb:
     
  19. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
    Since I updated to 3.6.11 "Accept third-party cookies" always reverts to CHECKED, no matter how many times I unchecked it in the config window. (Win7 64bit)
     
  20. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ DOSawaits

    Hi, sorry to hear that, i've also updated to the latest version and the've changed some things i'm not happy about :mad:

    However on my comp XP/SP2 i'm able to enable/disable 3rd & 1st

    3rd.gif

    So i don't know what's up with yours ? I wouldn't have though the OS should make a difference, but ? Hope you sort it :)
     
  21. ABee

    ABee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    330
    Might be a specific Win7 64-bit issue.
    Those don't seem too unusual, it seems. Whether the blame should be on the OS or the other software devs, I couldn't say.

    But WinPatrol also just had a new release with a Win7 64-bit issue, which the dev said he'd be fixing shortly:

    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r24955393-WinPatrol-and-Startup-Programs

    The thing I found quite curious about this Firefox update:
    I got it thru the internal updater. Updates that way are usually fairly small in download size-- sometimes two or three MB, sometimes just a few hundred KB.
    This one was an 11MB download.
    The full, downloadable installer from Mozilla is only 8MB.

    Anyone else have that experience?
     
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    DOSawaits, see if this helps: third-party cookies always reverts to CHECKed status.
     
  23. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
  24. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    DOSawaits, glad to read that it's fixed. And now, we have it posted here, in case someone searches for a solution to the same problem.
     
  25. wutsup

    wutsup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    United States
    Do you guys know how to delete RSS feeds from firefox and Internet explorer permanently?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.