Firefox 3.5 out

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by stefan_waelti, Jun 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stefan_waelti

    stefan_waelti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    29
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    cool i may as well try it while im waiting for opera 10.
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    Got it thanks, still using Opera 10 as my main though, doubt I'll change. Just can't bring myself to uninstall Fx, I still use it now and then.
     
  4. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    What’s New in Firefox 3.5
    Firefox 3.5 is based on the Gecko 1.9.1 rendering platform, which has been under development for the past year. Firefox 3.5 offers many changes over the previous version, supporting new web technologies, improving performance and ease of use. Some of the notable features are:

    Available in more than 70 languages. (Get your local version!)
    Support for the HTML5 <video> and <audio> elements including native support for Ogg Theora encoded video and Vorbis encoded audio. (Try it here!)
    Improved tools for controlling your private data, including a Private Browsing Mode.
    Better web application performance using the new TraceMonkey JavaScript engine.
    The ability to share your location with websites using Location Aware Browsing. (Try it here!)
    Support for native JSON, and web worker threads.
    Improvements to the Gecko layout engine, including speculative parsing for faster content rendering.
    Support for new web technologies such as: downloadable fonts, CSS media queries, new transformations and properties, JavaScript query selectors, HTML5 local storage and offline application storage, <canvas> text, ICC profiles, and SVG transforms.
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    FF3.5 is available by clicking "Check For Updates" in the Help folder. I tried using the download here and after downloading the .Exe file it said "File Corrupt" when I tried to do the install. Then I tried the Check for updates, and it went smooth. :)
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    stefan waelti, thanks for the heads-up! As twl845 mentioned, I downloaded it via Check for Updates and the only add-on that was not compatible was Redirect Remover.
    Otherwise, working very smooth! :D
     
  7. progress

    progress Guest

    +1 :)
     
  8. The_1337

    The_1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    Fx3.5 seems pretty good. Opera 10 looks like it will come out pretty soon. The updates to the beta are coming really fast.
     
  9. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Blazing fast! Very nice :D .

    SourMilk out
     
  10. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Seems the official release is identical to the 3.5 RC3 checking the digital signature. Running here no probs too. Only add-on that wasn't compatible was Reget Deluxe download manager but I'm now using Downthemall which seems just as good and it's free!
     
  11. stefan_waelti

    stefan_waelti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    29
  12. stefan_waelti

    stefan_waelti Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Mouse Gesture Redox and TabMixPlus add-ons not working either with 3.5
     
  13. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    A solid release, but an overhyped one. This is simply Firefox 3 SP1 IMO.
     
  14. Dark_Hanzo

    Dark_Hanzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Canada
    Norton toolbar is incompatible with this version :ouch:
     
  15. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
  16. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    The spinner in the top right corner has vanished on me since the update, anyone know how i might go about getting it back?
     
  17. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    If you right click on the toolbar and click customize you'll find what your looking for, the Activity Indicator, just drag it to where you want it.
     
  18. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    The tab creation icon has been brought near to the tab after along time.Its still the slowest browser,when compared to IE,opera,chrome .Its improvements in firefox 3.5 hasn't had any significant impact in reducing the cold boot time.I am expecting "paste and go" feature in firefox soon.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2009
  19. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    ...and if you want to move the activity indicator to the far right corner as it was in v3, add a "flexible space" between the "help" menu and "activity indicator". It will move the activity indicator to the far right corner.
     
  20. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi :)


    Firefox 3.5 ... :cool:

    Apart From This New - Location Aware Browsing - Thingy! :eek:

    See : http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/1672/deactivate-location-aware-browsing-in-firefox-3.5/
    &
    Here : http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/geolocation/


    Firefox 3.5 ... Seems much faster than the old v3 :D

    But just like we can in IE8 ...
    You'd have thought they'd have given us the option of putting a button on the Toolbar Thingy for - Private Browsing
    Rather than us having to go look for it in - Menu .. Each and every time we want to use it :rolleyes:
     
  21. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Zeena, unless I'm reading it incorrectly, the Location Aware Browsing feature is a good one because Firefox will warn you, by default, if any site asks for your geographical location. According to Mozilla:
     
  23. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    thanks heaps both of you, i was feeling kinda lost without it :)
     
  24. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
  25. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi JRViejo :)

    I think you must be reading incorrectly o_O
    http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/geolocation/

    Coz..
    Firefox isn't warning you.
    Firefox is asking you.


    Even though Firefox will ask... Do You Want To Share?

    I don't like the idea at all :mad:
    So I've Turned That Function Completely - OFF :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.