Firefox 3.5.7 Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Thankful, Jan 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,739
    Location:
    New York City
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    changelog?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,779
    Location:
    Texas
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    Is anyone having a problem with 3.5.7 not shutting down & having to go into the task manager to close it? I did not have this problem in the previous version.
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ive had it happen once, but idk if that was just an isolated incidence or not, but i havent noticed it happening again after that.
     
  8. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    saw in another site a couple of hours ago,they're releasing a new RC1 version..
    i don't use firefox..but i wonder anew RC version after an official release?..
    well ........
     
  9. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    The wheels of progress wait for no one!
     
  10. ad67

    ad67 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    I believe the RC ver is for Firefox 3.6, which has been in beta.
     
  11. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
    I suspect you have the Ghostery add-on installed ?
     
  12. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Why is Ghostery responsible?
     
  13. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    'Cause if you look around you'll find many (fingers1, fingers2) pointing it's way.
     
  14. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    I don't know if it truly is the cause of issues or not. But, since Ghostery was brought up, I have seen numerous instances where scripts will screw up and freeze, and Ghostery offers to allow the script to continue or stop it. This since using 3.5.7.
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,968
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    As I posted in this Random pausing in Firefox 3.5.7 thread, I also found that Ghostery was the cause of my high CPU usage with this new version. What's weird is that it does not happen in the Portable Firefox 3.5.7, with Ghostery installed, in an USB Flash drive.

    BTW, for those who have uninstalled Ghostery, if you have the NoScript add-on installed, go to Options > Advanced tab > Untrusted tab and check Forbid "Web Bugs" enabling that feature, until Ghostery can resolve the issue.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the tip. That probably explains my issue. :)
     
  17. Judge Dee

    Judge Dee Guest

    Good job, all of you who tracked it to Ghostery.
    The same was happening to me on Linux.
    :thumb:

    JD
     
  18. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    Yep, that solved the problem! Thanks to everyone
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.