Finally an adblocker for Opera?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, May 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
  2. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    291
    Maybe :doubt:
    ...or you just throw up a few bucks and buy Ad Muncher which is better than any addon I tried and works for everything :)
     
  3. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hear, hear! Been a happy AM user for over five years now :thumb:
     
  4. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  5. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,029
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I've been using it for a few weeks now on both portable & desktop versions of Opera. I think it is quite efficient. In preferences there are several lists to choose from (depending on language) & Fanboy's is the default. You can also block trackers if you wish. The preferences are quite customisable in many respects & not only can you pass the 'New York Times' Paywall' with it (whatever that is) apparently it will also block Facebook plug-ins.

    It is nice to see an Opera adblocker that works. I recommend it. :thumb:

    I also recommend NotScripts & External Scripts. :thumb:
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Is normal easylist failing to update for anyone else?
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It failed each time with me on trying to update, using fanboy ATM.
     
  8. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    I am trying it out now and it seems to be working well. Just successfully updated the block lists so that is not a problem here. I was happily using the fanboy list with stat/tracking anyway and now I do not have to replace the ini and css files every month.
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Fanboy is working here as well. Blocks pretty well. :) I'm just too used to easylist. :p
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.