Filseclab latest truly excellent

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Arup, Aug 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Filseclab never went over 15mb on my system and peak CPU usage on my dual CPU machines was around 3%.
     
  2. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    I checked my system a short while ago and RAM usage for Filseclab was 12.7 MB with 2% CPU utilization.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    I personaly don't like that a firewall use CPU when I don't use any bandwidth, and Filseclab use...

    So this is the first reason to wait for another version with this issue fixed...
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,988
    Sygate does this also.. If it is only a 2-3% cpu usage then I don't see much harm in that..
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    When I tried it, was between 2-20%... :(
     
  6. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,988
    Yep, anything over 2 or 3 is not good.. especially when it's just idling. I'd use something else or wait for an update like you say... :)
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    At least, I don't have this issue with Outpost Pro or NetVeda...
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,988
    I have tried many firewalls and only had a cpu% issue with Sygate so far. Only one. All others were acceptable...
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    I install it on another computer, test it on Sygate and Shields UP!!.

    It fails on Shields UP!! on:

    File Sharing:
    - A Next-Generation PRIVACY THREAT is present!

    Common Ports:
    - The port 0 and 80 are closed instead of shield...

    Can you now a way to fix this with Filseclab?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2005
  10. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    What is your OS (XP,98,2000 ?)
    I have XP SP2 and:
    I have only port 110 closed. The other ports are stealth.

    Concerning the Next-Generation PRIVACY THREAT, it's new on Shield Up!
    And when you read the comment, it appears there is no real solution at the moment.
    I will try with another computer and other firewalls to see is Filseclab is guilty ;)
     
  11. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
  12. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    WinXP SP2 Pro.

    I tried it Outpost Pro and didn't have the problems that I reported...
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    Key-U,

    nice info...

    thanks
     
  14. Arup

    Arup Guest

    About teh test,his first peeve was that it doesnt pass leak tests like Tooleaky, show me one free firewall that does, it never claimed to be a component control firewall like ZAP so one should never look at it in that sense, there are additional free apps like Antihook when combined with Filseclab can achieve the same thing the paid component control firewalls claim to do.

    I always got stealth on my Win2K machine, on dial up and GPRS.
     
  15. Kye-U

    Kye-U Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Posts:
    481
    I stopped using Filseclab because you can't specify more than one port. (Unlike Kerio's List Ports feature).

    I'm currently using LnS, and it's working very good; I feel my computer is more responsive with LnS than with Kerio 2.1.5..
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2005
  17. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Now that is what I call a prompt response and that too for a freeware, I am going to ask Tom for the fixes done and post it here.
     
  18. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    Thanks, Arup ;)
     
  19. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    Hi Arup,

    I've just tried Tooleaky once again a few minutes ago.

    Winsonar immediately blocked it, so i then allowed it to run.

    I got an alert from ZA Free asking for Internet access which i refused ! A few seconds later i got the info box from Tooleaky saying there was NO leak.


    StevieO
     
  20. Arup

    Arup Guest

    StevieO,

    Run AH, and you will see it blocks everything and combined with ZA free or Filseclab, it offfers a good and free solution.

    Vampiric_Crow,

    You are most welcome, actually have installed Filseclab with the update on a ICS machine and LAN, so far runs very well.
     
  21. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    This has not addressed the issue with Proxomitron. Anything can use it to connect even if they have been blocked. Maybe this applies to other local proxies. Again I have uninstalled Filseclab.
     
  22. Arup

    Arup Guest

    David,

    Did you try making a rule for Proximotron to block inbound?
     
  23. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    I decided to install the Filseclab on my clean Notebook, and works very well...

    It passes the website tests, and I don't know if the new update have fixed something about the resources, but seems a little better now... Although, the resources usage should be improved at same...

    I will make a feature request list to send to the developer...
     
  24. Arup

    Arup Guest

    VC,

    Add AH and you will have the best combo.
     
  25. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,537
    I will try it on the next incoming version :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.