Filesplit Size

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by RPSIT, Jul 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RPSIT

    RPSIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    This may be a rookie question, but I am new to Paragon so bear with me.

    I am trying to do a file level back up of some of our data, I have everything working correctly except for one small thing. Right now the archive file is one massive 200GB file, I would like to automatically break that up into 20GB files when I have the Backups run.

    The TXT file called by the PSL file is where I believe I need to change this, here is the TXT file:
    -------------
    FB_PROPERTY_WORKINGSET_CONSTRAINTS=<D:/Marketing/
    >
    FB_PROPERTY_EXCLUDE_MASK=D:/Marketing/Archive/
    FB_PROPERTY_ARCHIVE_PATH=\\server\backup$\ParagonBackups\prmstorage\BackupStorage\Marketing
    FB_PROPERTY_FILESPLIT_SIZE=0
    FB_PROPERTY_COMPRESS_LEVEL=2
    FB_PROPERTY_MAX_LOG_RECORDS=16777215
    FB_PROPERTY_EXCLUDE_MASK=D:/Marketing/Archive/
    FB_PROPERTY_GENERATE_UNIQUE_NAMES=1
    --------------

    I changed FB_PROPERTY_FILESPLIT_SIZE to equal 20000 but this causes the script to not run properly (actually it causes it to lock up and do nothing).

    Suggestions appreciated.
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I just made a scheduled task and set image splitting at 4000mb.

    The psl file says this:


    options
    cmp = 2
    mfs = 4096000
    notempfiles
    nosignature
    label = "No comment"
    autonames
    hotbackup always
    tempdrive C
    usevss
    store

    That's obviously 4000 x 1024

    Hope it helps.
     
  3. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    RPSIT,

    Max split size is 4000MB. There is no way to use larger files, it is program limitation.
    So you can split archves by 4GB or do not split at all.
     
  4. RPSIT

    RPSIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    The mfs option is only valid when doing Partition or Disk backups. When doing File backups the options arent an option.

    I would take the 4000MB in place of the 20GB.
    As it is, I think I may have figured it out. Using this:
    ------
    FB_PROPERTY_FILESPLIT_SIZE=-100663296
    ------
    The archives are broken into 4,096MB files. I just dont understand how "-100663296" equates to 4096MB.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.