Files needed after Format

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by hardhead, Aug 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    I just want to be sure I have this correct. If I decide to format computer later.
    I will need to add tds3.kf to open full version of course and add Radius.TD3 for the latest updates and the scripts folder.

    Is there anything else I will need after a format and reinstall TDS-3 to keep everything like it is now?

    Regards,
    hardyhar
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    You'll want to save these two folders too.

    C:\Program Files\TDS3\xDynamic\TDS.cfg which contains the config files ... especially (C:\Program Files\TDS3\xDynamic\TDS.cfg\Custom -> config.cfg)

    As well if you've created custom scans and added to the crc.txt, you'll need to save this folder C:\Program Files\TDS3\Config ,which contains the crc.txt file and scan folders contains all the scan setups, both the default and any custom scans you've created. I think that's all you'll need. ;)

    Steve
     
  3. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    Thanks Steve......
    I'm gonna format XP Pro for the first time in a few months and wanted to make sure I got them all. :D

    Regards,
    Tim
     
  4. J at A

    J at A Guest

    Tim,

    Watch a reply in a few minutes !!!
     
  5. J at A

    J at A Guest

    (sorry, I'm not at my own machine at the moment, which BTW almost died but that's another story...).

    As for the CRC32-test:
    Make sure that after a reformat there is the sub-dir xDynamic\TDS.data
    If it ain't there, just make it yourself.
    It is explained here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=25306
    Without that sub-dir, the CRC32-test will not work.

    As for the sub-dir TDS3\Config :
    I would advice to make a backup of it in case:
    1- you made in some way a custom scan scenario;
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=71784
    2- you have your own CRC32-test (saved in crcfiles.txt ).


    More in general:
    Of course this depends on how and in which way you want your new reformatted system to be, how the previous one was, how you are able to backup, etc etc.
    But I would try to make a backup of the whole TDS directory, just in case.
    And since TDS-3 is no longer there, be sure to make a backup of its install-file, your licence-key, the latest Radius (the definitions of TDS-3).

    Good luck !
    Cheers, Jan.
     
  6. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    I'm so glad I asked this question about TDS :p
    Now I have all my medicine to cure all my needs. :D
    This is a good referance post for the future of anyone that uses TDS.

    Thanks Jan and Steve for the cure.

    Regards,
    Tim
     
  7. J at A

    J at A Guest

    Hey Tim,

    I'm glad we could be of some help.
    As for myself: please (PLEASE!!!) do keep in mind that at the moment I am not at my own system.

    For those who have a registered licence of TDS-3, this might be a useful thread.

    We all know that TDS-3 has be dis-continued.

    It's up to the licenced users of TDS-3 whether to use it or not.
    That is NOT the topic of this thread.
    It is everyone's own decision.

    In case people would still like to use TDS-3 in some way (after a reformat), this could be a valuable thread.
    For those of you: your input is most welcome.

    Once again:
    For those who would still like to use TDS-3 in someway, this might be your thread after a reformat.

    For everyone else, may I please to ask to refrain from posting in this thread?
    Thanks for understanding !
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi there,
    in case your SS3edit.exe is not in the Scripts folder make sure you keep that one too,
    the spchapi.exe you can easily have again from the msagent site if needed.

    Long ago i just copied my whole installed TDS directory complete to another location so i would be able to copy files from there in case i forgot some.
    And keep your registration email with instructions, original keyfile, entrance to the members area etc, although you might be able to get a copy after an email to support.
    Original TDS installation software, think you have most of it now.
     
  9. hardhead

    hardhead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Blue Ridge, Va
    Thank you Jooske for the extra cure. :D

    Regards,
    hardyhar
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.