File System error: IAT-02

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Egelie, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Yesterday i got for the third time the famos GMAL-04 error.
    Tried everything but could not solve it.
    So i installed again a new Windows 10 64 bit.
    But i did have also some .arx backups.
    So i installed first defence en did import some .arx files.
    Two of them work but others not .
    I coukld import them but booting to it gives a IAT-02 eror.
    How i solve this .?

    Frits Egelie
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Are you using First Defense or the latest version of IR. I don't believe First Defense will work on win 10
     
  3. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    I use ISR version 3.32.235.
    I do work with it in Windows 7 and Windows 10.
    _____________________________________
    i do have lots of times time issues with Windows 10.
    Very difficult procedure to run W10 in save mode.
    When i start up normally and after giving my password it takes sometimes hours for W10 doing something.
    Normally it is one or two seconds to jump in.
    _________________________________________-
    for two days ago i got again the famous GMAL error 04, for the third time.
    So, alt last i formatted ( SSD 512GB) all.
    Installed W10 again and ISR and imported W7 and W10 .arx files
    Two importend W10 .arx files looks corrupt then booting to it gives the IAT-02 error.
    What to do?
    Is there a solution for it. ?
    Two W10 files do work.
    One imported and the primary W10 file just maked.

    Frits
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Egelie

    I can only tell you two things. One, is I won't be using win 10 for a while, I consider it still beta software. Two Raxco doesn't support that version for either win 7 or win 10. I got it to work with Win 7 but not win 10. Your best bet would be to upgrade to the latest IR version.

    Pete
     
  5. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Pete,
    i could do that. But has it the same possibilities as ISR ?
    I thought not.
    Frits
     
  6. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Pete,
    how many snapshots can i make with IR?
    Can i export and also import a snapshot ?
    Does it work with W7 and 8.1 and 10. ( mixed)
    Has it a FREEZE mode. ( does not work 100% good in ISR)
    other options i don't use them.

    Frits
     
  7. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Pete,
    i am reading lots of about IR.
    But there is IR= Instant recovery
    and IR=Instant rescue.
    So wich prgr works better.?
    And can i use it with isr.?
    I mean can i convert now the working snapshots of ISR ?
    Frits
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    You want IR Instant Recovery, and yes you can use it with your snapshots and Archives. Basically it now installs fine in Win 7 - win 10, is more secure, and Raxco supports the latest IR with Win 10
     
  9. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Peter,
    i have downloaded yet IR. Also readed soem parts of the manual.
    It is likely ISR.
    There is lots of information to read. To much.
    I ask you, will i first delete the old ISR completely in each snapshot or could i run IR with the ISR in tact.?

    It looks to me that Raxco has rewritten the old ISR.

    Frits
     
  10. USAAlone

    USAAlone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    90
    Export your current known working snapshots as an archive to back them up.
    Uninstall First Defense using First Defense uninstall. Select uninstall just the program and your snapshots will be available in Instant Recovery.
    Install Instant Recovery and reboot.

    Select a snapshot from the start screen after pressing F3 when you see Instant Recovery after rebooting.
    Select a snapshot to test it. If it starts up without giving you an error the snapshot will work like it did in First Defense.

    Pete said you can use the snapshots in Instant Recovery. Go and uninstall program only from First Defense uninstaller.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2015
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Image your system first and then try the above. Should work, but if not restore the system, and do a complete uninstall and reinstall. Let us know if we can help
     
  12. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Pete,
    i have installed the IR in the primary windows 10., after de-installing ISR.
    It works nice, nicer then i believed first.
    Then i imported the two .arx files wich gives the IAt-02 error in ISR.
    All two work nicely.
    So i have ordered for a upgrade ( 10 snapshots IR).
    After this i installed on each snapshot the IR. The nthe only possibility was to jump via the F1 screen.
    So i had to install it in each snapshot.
    That means i have to validate each IR.
    I think IR works the same as ISR, without the GMAL-04 and IAT-02 errors


    Frits
     
  13. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Frits

    Sounds like you have it. Yep IR works the same as FDISR. Just updated to the new OS's and also improved security between snapshot. Still a great piece of software and so flexible.

    Pete
     
  14. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Peter,
    pitty that lots of people don't know or heard from it.
    Frits
     
  15. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Also nice for my labtop. But that computer has 128 GB SSD and GPT disks and UEFI boot.
    For GPT it will work.
    Perhap is 128 GB SSD to small to have two snapshots.

     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Oh I so agree. 128gb SSD is small. Just use archives, and strip your secondary snap way way down.
     
  17. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    So glad i was so, unpleasent i am now.
    Then i jumped to a GAME snapshot.
    I did uninstall ISR and tried to install IR.
    It goes wrong. The installing is reversed. ( couple of times tried)
    It gives error 1722 or it could also be 3722.
    So booting gives nothing. Empty screen.
    So i installed ISR again.
    Same result.
    It looks, i had to format the C drive ( omnly the MFT) and install W10 again and IR.
    Or do you have a solution to jump into the right snapshot ?

    Frits
     
  18. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    within a hour ( 58 min) the SSD formatted and installed a new W10.
    Then imported the importend .arx file.
    So i can go on.

    Frits
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Frits

    Hopefully you have images to restore. Do you have archives of all the snapshots. But if those archives have the old ISR, I am not sure what will happen. First make sure you have images. Then you can always restore back to a starting point.
     
  20. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    I have seven .arx files.
    They work all.
    Frits
     
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Great!!!
     
  22. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    yesterday bought the IR with 50% FDUPGRADE.!!
    Very nice.....thanks RAXCO!

    Frits
     
  23. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Now i met a new problem.
    I did import the last game snapshot ( i have two)
    Deleted the Fistdefence ISR prgr and TRIED to install the IR.
    It went perfect till the last sentence.
    I got a message there where errors.
    It reverted ithe installation.
    So i thougt to boot, but there is nothing there.
    How can i boot in one of my snapshots ?
    Or must i again start all over, by installing a new windows 10. ?
    I did have made new .arx files from all the other snapshots.

    Frits
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Hi Frits

    I am not sure with Win 10. I am about to try something similiar on Win 7. You might need to contract Raxco support on that one. They are great.

    Pete
     
  25. Egelie

    Egelie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Posts:
    71
    Peter,
    i did instantly format the SSD drive. ( the mft table)
    Installed a new W10 ( no product key needed) and the IR.
    So it was quickly repaired,
    Now, i go thrown away the snapshot of W7 in game mode, that troubles me.

    Frits
    p.s. it is only pitty for the SSD drive.