file history

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by francosj, Dec 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. francosj

francosj Registered Member

Hi there
    This is my first post here...I'm a computer novice with a few questions about file history. I am running Windows XP pro on my computer, and I want to know if there is any way to check on what folders/files have been opened and when. I don't have the "recent file" feature enabled...is there any other way to check?

2. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

Do you mean files that were just opened and possibly read but not necessarily modified, such as if you suspected someone used your PC and looked at your files?

The problem with using Windows Explorer to look at the last accessed date on a file is that I think it's own access is done prior to displaying anything, so you lose what the previous access might have been.

If you are comfortable working at the CMD prompt in XP (this looks very much like the old MS-DOS window on older versions of Windows), you can use the commands below to display directories of folders sorted by "last access" date.

c:\> dir/o:d/t:a

If you place the CMD window in the top folder of a tree of folders you want to look at, such as "My Documents" and below, then you could use this extra qualifier to have it continue it's way through all the sub-folders, too.

c:\> dir/o:d/t:a/s

If it is a lot of folders, you can have it put all the information into a text file using this command.

c:\> dir/o:d/t:a/s > c:\a.txt

3. francosj

Hi Karma
    I tried the commands you gave me, and it gave me a list of files on my desktop (where the file in question is ). I'm not exactly sure what I'm looking at though (again, novice). It only gave me a list for files accessed today, and some of those were not files that I have actually opened this morning.
    Sorry if these are dumb questions...again, I'm not so good at this.

4. LowWaterMark