File backup hanging after 92MB

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pogle, Sep 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Yesterday I installed TI 9.0 build 2,245 on Win XP Home SP2.
    Did an image backup to another disk no problem. 8 minutes.

    Trying a file backup to the same location and it hangs after 92MB of 3.7GB.
    Well either it hangs or it's going v..e..r...y.. s...l....o.....w....l......y...
    Like an hour to do 2%.

    I reduced the number of files selected and selected them from the same partition, but it's the same thing. In the end I use task manager to stop it.

    Any suggestions?

    o_O *puppy* o_O
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2005
  2. bert5

    bert5 Guest

    I encountered the same problem. I tried to backup some directory structures and in almoust any case the process stopped after at least some minutes. Times and percentage differ when hanging. At last i was able to backup a smaller structure with about 500MB.
    That's very annoying, cause this feature was the main reason for me to buy the upgrade...
    Where's help? Hello acronis team, work on it!
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Do the files that appear to hang the backup have unusual names? I'm wondering whether some operating system files might be the problem rather than standard data files.
     
  4. bert5

    bert5 Guest

    Not easy to find out. The dialog window is too small and mostly the path of the file actually processed is only partly visible. So i just know roughly place of the file but not its name. I'll do some more tests to prove or disprove this...
    ...despite of users efforts, i hope the acronis team will do a lot of more tests to fix this bug (feature [​IMG]).
     
  5. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    In my case I don't think the filenames are the problem. I've changed the files to backup a couple of times and it hangs each time exactly on 92MB. Not a byte more or less.
     
  6. bert5

    bert5 Guest

    Pogle is right.
    I encountered a small directory structure which caused this problem.
    Copied it to another place --> no problem
    Put it in some deeper hierarchy --> no problem
    Went to the structure in its original place and left some directories out --> no problem, if certain directories are excluded, but its not that certain directories or the files in it rather some combination. When I process the formerly excluded directories itself --> no problem
    That's all very weird. Seems I'm wasting my time doing acronis' work...
    Maybe at the time nobody from them is reading this forum. I'll send an email to the support refering to this thread...
     
  7. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Thanks Bert
    That's interesting.
    I've just tried some completely different files and it got as far as 712MB (exactly) before falling asleep. :doubt:

    In task manager there are TrueImage.exe and TrueImageService.exe processes using 13,580kB and 105,156kB respectively but both on 0% CPU. I have 1GB RAM on a 2GHz machine.

    I'll mail support too and send them the output of AcronisReport.
     
  8. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Just sent an email to the support and got the confirmation.
    I registered now to this forum to have all this nice editing features [​IMG]
    fu..., all that cool icons in the second line and at the right don't work, had to put image tags and the correct image url manually... maybe a problem with my firefox.
     
  9. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    another bothering detail:
    doubleclicking on a file backup results in a not working mount dialog.
    would be nice to mount even file backups but at least there should be a hint that this is not possible...

    ...let's see if I'm already a FREQUENT POSTER now [​IMG]
     
  10. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    ...still not!
    ...tal vez... ahora

    excuse me for kidding, but it was such fun...
     
  11. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    You're starting to lose me there, Bert. :D ;)
    Not sure I want to become a frequent poster.

    Just to add that the original 92MB figure seems to vary depending on which files I try to backup. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the number of files being backed up. I've tried general documents (92MB), pictures (712MB) and audio files (2,996MB). The total size seems to bear some relation to the file types. And, as I've already mentioned, they're always an exact number of MB.
     
  12. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Latest:

    This problem does seem to be related to the number of files.

    I created 1,000 small text files in a folder named 1.txt, 2.txt, 3.txt, etc. (using a batch file created in MS Excel and run in the CMD window ;) ). The backup hung up at 778.txt.

    I increased the files size to 45kB. The backup hung up at 778 files.

    I increased the files size to 4.4MB. The backup hung up at 778 files.

    I limited the folder to 777 files. The backup completed OK for the first time ever. *puppy*
     
  13. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Nice bit of detective work Pogle :cool:.

    Could someone else out there confirm these findings please?

    Regards
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello everyone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I'm really sorry for your inconvenience.

    If Acronis True Image 9.0 hangs while creating a file backup then please collect the following information:

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step;

    - When exactly does the program hang? (92MB, 778th file, etc.)

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Find the full version name and build number as it is shown here;

    Please also do the following:

    - Press the Start button, choose Run, type "drwtsn32" and press Enter;

    - In the dialog that appears check the Log File and Crash Dump paths, then press the OK button;

    - Run Acronis True Image 9.0 and reproduce the problem;

    - Pick up the user.dmp and drwtsn32.log files in the directory specified at step 2;

    Send all the collected files and information to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  15. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    Re: File backup hanging...

    Hi Alexey
    Thanks for taking this up. :) I've mailed support with all the details except Dr Watson under the subject "File backup problem".

    The Dr Watson files have a modified date of 13/9/2005 which is before I bought TI so I don't think anything new has been added to the log file/crash dump. I think the program is hanging rather than crashing.

    Oddly, it hung at 787 files today instead of 778. Same with three different file sizes. (I don't think I wrote it down wrong yesterday :doubt: )
     
  16. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Re: File backup hanging...

    If your latter sentence is true, it must depend on date also. [​IMG]
    I did some test with my IE cache (lots of different files in type and size) and every time it hung at 787 files. Then I copied a pdf many times and also could backup exactly 786 but not one more...
    Come on Alexey this cold no be that hard to discover. We gave you very concrete hints now...
    Furthermore it's hard to believe that this problem didn't arise in beta testing. In times of 300GB and bigger hard discs a collection of 1000 or more files is very common.
    Some new recognitions from you, Pogle?
     
  17. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    As an owner of the german version I mailed a short description an a link to this thread to them.
    They told me they could reproduce the problem and that it will be fixed in one of the next threads...
    ...hopefully soon.
     
  18. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    I received a mail to try build 2259.
    Will try this evening and post result.

    *puppy*
     
  19. Pogle

    Pogle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    25
    File backup no longer hanging after 787 files

    [MOVE]...problem solved...[/MOVE]
    There'll always be the odd bug in a new version. The test is how quickly they get fixed.

    Thanks to all the folk at Acronis. :-*
     
  20. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Ok, ok, sorry for the impatient email answers to the support.
    Maybe that's why I didn't receive mail announcing the new build.
    At the moment I'm loading it.
    This was really fast enough bug fixing. But i think our efforts did speed up this process...
     
  21. C_Cashew

    C_Cashew Guest

    I have just downloaded the new version 9.0, and when I choose individual file/folder backup, the process hangs @ 36% complete. When I cancel task, the True Image icon on the Windows task bar continues to animate and states it is still archiving with 36% complete. No matter how often I cancel that, it remains active. This has happened twice now. I have to reboot in order to get rid of the active icon. Last time after reboot, True Image couldn't find any of my hard drives! Is this problem really solved??
     
  22. bert5

    bert5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    @C_Cashew:
    First make sure to have the latest build (2259). You can find it in the about box (help/about...).
    This version works perfectly for me.
    Second: You can kill the process named "TrueImageService" in the tastkmanager. you'll find it in the process list. So you don't have to reboot.
    If that all doesn't help, there must be some other weird problem... :(
    Tell me your experience if you like...
     
  23. C_Cashew

    C_Cashew Guest

    Thanks for your help. I thought, since I had just bought and downloaded TI9 yesterday, that I had the latest build! However, not so. I have downloaded the latest build and have successfully completed the backup of files. Thanks for the tip on task manager as well - didn't think of that.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.