FDISR users-- few Qs

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by aigle, Sep 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    HI Aigle

    Rollback/EAXfix and FDISR are two very different types of programs, and both have plus's and minuses.

    For me, the two most important points are reliablitiy and easy ability to image. FDISR has never let me down. Even when I've broken it, it hasn't cost me a loss. Secondly is the ability to image with what I want to any drive format I want, and not have to worry about damaging the mbr. Speed although important is not near as important, and disk space for me isn't an issue

    Pete
     
  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Ya I do understand this. Thanks.
     
  3. Reve_Etrange

    Reve_Etrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    BTW, and somewhat OT: I get transfer rates of about 450MB/min on a 3GHz Pentium and a 250GB ATA100 disk. I got a 80 pins cable, and I double-checked that PIO is NOT set, but UDMA5.
    AV turned off, no live scanner.

    Is that normal?

    RE
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Just curious exactly what you are doing. How did you come up with 450MB/Min.
     
  5. Reve_Etrange

    Reve_Etrange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    108
    Sorry, I mixed up the figures with CasperXP (that I trial too).
    With LeapFrog, I copy 15.3Gb in 2h18 min.
    Isn't that d*mn long?

    RE
     
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Yes, that is *a** long...

    I went to PCpitstop and the test shows that my ATA/100 HDD's measure a throughput of ~50 MB/s.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Speed depends on a lot of factors, not only the disks, but I agree, that is way to long.
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Ok, pls I have few more Qs about FDISR.

    1- Suppose I have three snapshots, A, B and C.
    I boot to B from A. I make some changes in the system there and then boot back to A. Now whenever I go back to B, I will find all my changes present there?( I was expecting it like RollBackRx where u loose these changes and B remains intact).
    I hope I could make it clear. Snapshots are updated automatically when u boot out of them but archives have to be updated manually. Am I true?
    Archives of FDISR behave like RollBackRx snapshots in reality I think.

    2- U can,t copy an archive( to make it double-- from archive to archive). Is it true as well.

    3- While making a snapshot/ copy or archive of current sytem, can u continue using the system or u must wait until new snapshot is copied/ created?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    1. If you reboot in "A" you get back as it was before.
    If you reboot in "B" you will see your changes.
    All changes in each snapshot remain, even when you boot in another snapshot.

    2. You can copy/paste an archive file (.arx) like any other file as long you use a different name.
    Normally you do this in FDISR with copy/update.

    If you use the same name, the existing archived snapshot will be updated.

    If you use a different name, a new archived snapshot will be created.
    This way you can create unlimited copies of a snapshot and restore it when needed.

    3. I never tried that one. I guess it's possible.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Thanks Eric.

    Anybody can comment on this?

    Thanks.
     
  11. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,885
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Yes, you can use your system while FDISR is working in the background.
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    HI Aigle

    1. Yes any snapshot other than the one you are working in remains unchanged, until you change it, either by updating from another one, or working in it. If you've worked in a snapshot, and leave it, it remains as it was when you left.

    2. In theory yes. I did once and I had problems with that archive when I created a snapshot from it. Could be coincidence. Also since my archive's are about 15gig, I just don't bother. I have built the same external archive in two places, and I just keep updating them. Any new archive would be different enough that I"d build it from the snapshot I modified. I would recommend building each archive from FDISR. Once built, the literally only take a minute or two to update.

    3. Again in theory yes you can work will doing a copy. You also can in theory work while taking an image in windows, or work while running defraggers. I NEVER do. I like to give the software all the help I can to get it right. It's getter to be patient, and get it right.

    Pete
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I fully agree here. Even I don't do this and my CPU is designed for multi-tasking.
    If a snapshot takes 5 minutes, I wait 5 minutes and that gives me enough time to think about the next step to avoid any mistake on my side.
     
  14. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,885
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I guess that is good advice. But its no theory (on my system at least). I usually let FDISR work in the background and have had no problems. (have done this since I bought it over a year ago)
    Well, I have not tried to install software or deleting/adding files at the same time as copying/creating snapshots or archives I might add.
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Peter,
    I consider "aigle" and "sukarof" as potential dangerous users. LOL
    These users will even defrag their harddisk, while copy/updating snapshots and that will cause errors for sure. (tested by me).
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2006
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I totally agree. All these programs advertise that doing so is okay. I just leave FDISR snapshot updates and imaging to specified times, and then I leave my system alone. These are critical tasks, and I just want to give the software all the help I can so it gets it right.
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,159
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Hi all,
    Thanks for replies.

    @ Eric
    I may be a bit dangerous user but not too much!! :)
    I always try to do many tasks at a time but of course not defrag or anything major like this.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.