fdisr rescue sandboxing question

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Tony, May 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi, does the sandboxing rescue area allow you to test programs that require a reboot?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Not sure what you mean by sandboxing the rescue area. Can you further explain what you are asking?
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi Peter

    Taken from http://www.horizondatasys.com/253715.ihtml
     
  4. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yes, Tony, I believe that it will. I do not have this version of FDISR but if it works like the "original" you can indeed reboot and not lose anything until you want to lose it.

    Acadia
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Hi Tony

    I didn't realize HDS was describing that way. The answer is absolutely. You can install something in the rescue area, leave it there, reboot, until you desire to remove it. THen a c opy/update from the primary area and it's gone.

    Pete
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thank you :thumb:

    This version may suit me then as i only really need 2 snapshots, just one of my freshly installed OS, and one updated snapshot of my current system.
    If i can also test software that needs a reboot then fdisr rescue would be about right for me.
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    You won't be able to test reboot, and then get rid of what you tested with the config you describe. To be able to test software, and then remove it both snapshot will remain the same most of the time.

    I would do the fresh system install, image the system, and then install FDISR-Rescue, and create your second snapshot. I would then also reimage the system.

    Pete
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks Peter :)

    If thats the case then i cannot see much point in having FDISR Rescue and i may as well stick with imaging software.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    FDISR rescue is totally useless. No body will use it as it has no much benefit over regular imaging. Original FDISR was something else. They killed it now.
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    from what i have read they have discontinued the original FDISR as it was no longer viable financially.

    If this were the case then why not at least drop the price to make it more affordable rather than have a stripped down version for a better price that no one really wants.

    Is there any plans afoot to release a newer and better version?
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    I don't agree aigle. For over a year I used FDISR in just the mode that rescue works. That was before they even added archives. Was worth it's weight in gold to me then even in that form.

    Pete
     
  12. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings aigle,

    I read your post today. I have to say that I can put myself into your shoes and see your point of view, but it slightly pains me at the same time. I know if you have already seen FirstDefense-ISR then migrated to the HDS FirstDefense Rescue product it may be a tough pill to swallow, but let me throw in my two cents.

    As you have read, FirstDefense-ISR was just not selling with its included features at the price point it was at. There is a market and price point for it, just not this one.

    Of course, the alternative was to stop selling the ISR-ish products all together, but then nobody gets any form of this wonderful technology (blatant self-marketing plug). As much as I love offering the world a nifty software utility, the wives do like us to be able to put dinner on the table each night.

    The HDS product was developed with features that the majority (key word) of users really needed and at a lower price (more key words) point. So far, this strategy is working better.

    Now, what to do with FD-ISR.... FD-ISR is really cool (another blatant self-marketing plug), you fine folks use it, and I use it as well. Instead of it killing it, we decided to keep it updated. In fact, we are looking at an update in the near future.

    I am not trying to convince you of anything, just trying to help shed light on the situation. I hope this helps.

    OK, sorry folks for being a bit off topic for this thread, but getting back to it: Yes, you can use FirstDefense Rescue as described in a previous post(thx Peter2150 and Acadia) as a sand-boxing tool. Boot to the Rescue area, install and test a product, then boot back and update the Rescue Area.
     
  13. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  14. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,:) I know most everything in this forum is about FD-ISR but how will this affect Bootback-ISR users? Will there be updates for us too?Thanks,tim
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Todd can confirm, but I do believe so.

    Pete
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Your points are valid. I was never a FDISR user except for running a trial of it but I do like the original FDISR. With FDISR rescue there is only one backup snapshot and one working. If your working snapshot is messed u can go back to recure snapshot. Now it saves u from a reinstall of OS but doesn,t give you much of an adavantage over an imaging software where u can have almost similar recovery with a slightly more time. The difference is much less especially due to fast speed of imaging software now a days and many features like incremental and differential snapshots.

    I wish you could have offered two versions of it, one old one, may be at an even more higher price and one Rescue with a lower price.

    Ofcourse it,s all just my opinion. U need not agree with me.:)
     
  17. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings timcan,

    Yes, BootBack, Raxco FD-ISR, and Leapfrog FD-ISR users are getting an "upgrade". I put this in qoutes since I will most likely migrate all to a single branded version. Makes my life loads easier(development, testing and deployment of a single code base) and yours in the future.
    Still working on those details.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,045
    Hi Todd

    One favor re upgrades. If possible can it be a full installer. The upgrade patches prove to a pain in the butt down the line. If not possible I understand. I do realize there may be "reasons".

    Pete
     
  19. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings Pete,

    Yes, all of our packages have been and will be full installs. A lot less headaches for both us and the customer.

    I think Raxco took the upgrade route on some of their installers, which is why you are probably asking.
     
  20. pbernard

    pbernard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    This is interesting. My FD-ISR shows V 3.21 Build 205. Is that the last update or did I miss one along the way prior to Todd's post today? Thanks.
    Pat
     
  21. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    FDISR v3.21 Build 205 is the latest version.
     
  22. pbernard

    pbernard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks Erik, that's good to know that I'm up to date!! It seems that I've had the program for so long that I had to look it up when I purchased it.
    Pat
     
  23. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I bought FDISR on 2006.06.01, almost 2 years ago and it's the most fascinating software, I ever had on my computer.
    ShadowProtect is also very good, but bores me to death. :)
     
  24. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044
    Re the last version, I seem to remember that the last version did not contain some benefits re freeze function. At that time I was told that the last full version was an earlier version. I am currently running 3.2 Build 202 (very happily) and (shame on me) have not even tried the freeze function.

    Eric, this is your cue :D
     
  25. pbernard

    pbernard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Erik you are a year ahead of me in purchasing FD-ISR and I agree with you; altho I'm very simple and only use 1 primary, 1 secondary and 1 archive to an external disk (think that I can go with 10!!) I'm afraid that if I have more, I wouldn't be able to keep it all straight and with Paragon, I feel pretty confident. It will be interesting what FD-ISR (Raxco/Leapfrog - it gets a bit confusing) will come up with as far as an update goes. I have to tell you that I appreciate all your posts concerning your experiences with the program (have printed out many of them) and it has helped me in understanding various methods of using FD-ISR.
    Pat
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.