FDISR PRO VS WORKSTATION

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by demoneye, May 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    what the diff o_O?
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Not sure what you are talking about. What Pro verison?
     
  3. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Me neither, FDISR v3.21.205 is the pro version (check the About screen), but there is a server edition.
     
  4. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    lo pete

    there is FDISR PRO and FDISR WORKSTATION/SERVER..... so is there and difference between them ?:doubt:

    cheers
    :cautious:
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    You are right. Never looked at the server version, as I don't run servers's One difference is price, server version is $495. There should be a page on the server version at HDS that gives the details.
     
  6. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    There is no difference in functionality.
     
  7. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    so why its cost 495$ ??:blink:
     
  8. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    Well, keep in mind that servers are responsible for the productivity of possibly hundreds of computers, whereas the pro version is for standalone workstations. Hence, the server version of fdisr has more responsibility of recovery to more computers. Also, server downtime can potentially cost very large amounts of money, and while not trivializing the importance of workstations or things they are used for and the need to keep them well running, I am apt to think that servers are responsible for more critical roles, and as I said, their downtimes can cost alot of money and lost productivity.

    These are some ideas as to why the server version may cost more than the workstation version.

    ;)
     
  9. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Yes but....if it got 2 ver server/workstaion ... server ver should get extra option in order to maintain the server like in windows server 2008 or what ever software desgin for server environment ...:blink:
     
  10. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    um, what? are you asking about compatibility with windows server 2008? I do believe they will be releasing an update patch in the near future that will allow for compatibility with that os.
     
  11. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    i am talking about a real "server ver" with all server EXTRA stuf mate:argh:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.