FDISR on a Macbook Pro!!!!

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Rata, Jul 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    :D Grettings one and all. Just joined this forum (I know... looking for help) and wanting to know if anyone has had any experience of using FirstDefense-ISR on a Macbook Pro platform.

    I have an evaluation copy of FD-ISR (from Horizon Datasys) an have had an error when trying to load a rescue image.

    Error: EINIT .....

    This message comes up from the pre-boot menu (after pressing <F1>) in red at the bottom of the screen. The system locks and a power reset is needed to boot the original copy of the OS.

    Running Vista Ultimate on a MBR disk using a single partition (ie no Mac OS on this machine at the moment).

    This software is perfect for what I want, but am reluctant to commit to a license until I can get it to work.

    ;) Chur chur Bro
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042

    My hunch is you are going to have to run it on an MBR disk. FDISR wasn't designed for Apple OS's and I suspect it won't run on their disk format.

    Pete
     
  3. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks Pete.

    Is running on an MBR disk. Also no Apple OS on the machine:thumb:
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Is the partition table structure, and the NTFS structure all the same. FDISR uses both.
     
  5. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Yep. Only one partition on drive.;)
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    If you run a defragger can you see the MFT present. The disk structure would have to be identical to a windows machine using NTFS or it won't fly.

    Pete
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
  8. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Wilbertnl, thanks for the input. Your first reference about windows on GPT is basicaly the way I got Vista onto the MBP. Vista does not install on a GPT drive (does not see the drive, you cannot partiton or format). The other references relate to GUID drives.

    Go on Wilbertnl, get a Mac... great hardware. You can run Windows, Mac or Unix!
     
  9. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Yes, the MFT is present and I have no reason to believe the NTFS structure is differnet. The disk partition was created and formatted using the Vista install disk, so should be OK.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,042
    Then FDISR should work.
     
  11. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    So, you do get the preboot screen and after you press the F1 key you get the error?
    Hm, that sounds like the partition information itself is fine then (otherwise you would not get the preboot screen).
    Maybe we have to look into the combination of FD-ISR Rescue and Vista.

    (I think that the Mac Mini is cute)
     
  12. Rata

    Rata Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Yes. that sums it up nicely.

    Have now tried the download version from Horizon Datasys on Vista Home premium (32bit) on a Macbook Air, Vista Ultimate (64bit) on a Macbook Pro and Vista Ultimate (64bit) on a Desktop PC (not Apple - IBM clone). All act the same way.

    Does anyone have FD-ISR running on Vista?

    What version of the Software are they using?

    :eek:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.