FDISR + nLite + Anti-Executable

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by ErikAlbert, Apr 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

This might sound strange, but it happened on my computer and it's something you would not expect at all.

nLite allows you to create a customized "Windows Installation CD".
    In order to do that, nLite copies your original "Windows Installation CD" in a folder created by you.
    I stored that folder on my system partition [C:], because I'm still studying nLite and you don't have access to all these options, unless you have that folder on your computer.
    So far everything was fine, until I installed Anti-Executable (AE).

During the installation AE scans ALL your harddisks to create a whitelist of executables, installed on your computer.
    After installing AE completely I started testing the copy/update function of FDISR, because I knew from the trial period that AE can cause errors in copy/update when you put AE on maximum security. Everybody knows that certain security softwares cause errors during the copy/update and AE is one of them, if you put it maximum security, not on low security.

In spite of my correct AE-configuration, the copy/update didn't work at all and I had constantly 6000+ errors during each copy/update.
    After reading FDISR's Detailed Log file, I discovered that the folder, containing a complete Windows CD, was the cause of this.

I reinstalled my system partition, deleted that folder and re-installed AE and then everything was OK.

My advice : turn Anti-Executabe OFF, before you start using nLite to create a customized CD and get rid of this folder and you better delete the ISO-file to burn the new CD also. Then you can turn AE back ON.

Storing this folder on another partition can't be trusted either, because AE scans every harddisk and you can't exclude anything during the installation of AE.