FD-ISR & RAID 1

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by NCC_1927, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NCC_1927

    NCC_1927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    I'm building a new PC. I'd like to run both XP Pro & Vista Ultimate on it. I'd like to have a XP Pro image & a Vista image that I can boot to as opposed to the traditional Dual Boot setup. I also would like to have my OS HDD in a RAID 1 Array as an addition safeguard. (I will be using other tradition backup solutions) The main question is will the XP & Vista FD-ISR images have any problems &/or issues with a RAID 1 Array? Will the restored image(s) be properly mirrored in the rebuilt RAID 1 Array? I'll be using a RAID card, probably a PCI version. The HDDs will be WD 150gb Raptors. And the mainboard an EVGA 680i MB. Thanks for your help. :cool:
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    It works fine with Raid 0. If your raid 1 array looks and acts like a regular c: drive it should be fine.
     
  3. NCC_1927

    NCC_1927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    I take it from your reply that you gave tried this with a RAID 0 setup, but not a RAID 1 setup? o_O
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Correct, I am running FDISR on Raid 0 with no problem.
     
  5. NCC_1927

    NCC_1927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    Then do you know anyone running the app in a RAID 1 Array? I'd like the benefit of their experience. THX.
     
  6. flimbag

    flimbag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Posts:
    48
    Running on a SCSI RAID 5 here without any problems.
     
  7. LoadCoil

    LoadCoil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Running RAID 1 and FD-ISR just fine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.