FD-ISR and Raxco...

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by cthorpe, May 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EASTER.2010

    EASTER.2010 Guest

    I thought i was the only one who noticed that commercial. What a joke!

    This move looks like just another classic transition over to a different reseller so i believe what Leapfrog officals indicate and don't see too much to grow concerned about. Leapfrog is already stated they will continue this and other of their project software with a "VERY STRONG" emphasis used with that expression.

    Reassuring enough i would think but also not so totally surprising when you look at the state of the (software) union these days, given so many recent transfers/mergers creating a stir.

    BTW, @Dallen My sincerest thanks to you for "first" introducing me to FD-ISR in the first place. This is one amazing program that is totally revolutionized my entire systems structure and brought about a great deal of confidence none other is ever proven to offer.
     
  2. Horus37

    Horus37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    328
    I'm feeling pretty lucky that I got the latest FDISR version just under the wire before they stopped offering it. Whew!!! Glad it had vista support now. Can you imagine not having access to this FDISR now and having to do things the old way? Yikes. Rollback rx is not going to supplant this and I like abusing my system now with all kinds of software combinations then erasing it and recreating snapshots at my whim. Thinking that raxco made a mistake dropping FDISR. If it's too expensive for them to offer support to us then just up the price for support. Big deal. Probably quit offering FdISR because of me ha ha ha ha ha. No seriously though I can't imagine why they would stop offering it. Is the backup recovery in Vista so good that they think that FDISr is no longer needed?
     
  3. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    What is it with all you people? You are talking b******s. When you bought your FD-ISR licence from Raxco, you did just that - a licence to use the product as long as you want (which is still the case) and, possibly, a maintenance contract. Raxco (backed by Leapfrog) could not have stated more clearly that they will honour those contracts and continue to provide support to their customers. Why should you expect more? You have no reason at all to demand that, and Raxco have no legal, professional or moral obligations to you beyond what you originally paid for.

    As to those of you having recently purchased an FD-ISR licence who feel hard done by Raxco, re-read what I have just written. You have got what you paid for, and no less. To believe that Raxco had some sort of obligation to tell you they were soon to cease sales of FD-ISR is utter nonsense. So, if they cease sales on 8th May, you feel they should have made an announcement on 8th April, say - i.e., actually cease selling on 8th Aprilo_O If so, then the same argument says they should have made an announcement on 8th March. Oh sorry, I mean 8th February, er, no, 8th of January, er no, ...

    The world is not there to serve just you. Change happens. Get over it.
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    spm,
    We are all in shock, some people need more time to recover, it's isn't always Immediate System Recovery with people. :D
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,029
    Location:
    UK
    Good quote that Erik.

    Still no word from Raxco, I just have no idea what I am supposed to do with a software that doesn't work and an admission that support is maxed out.

    The one thing I do want to say is that I shall always be greatful to Peter for introducing me to the software and that I want to continue to use it.
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Do you have a link to the post, where your problem is described. I've written and read so many posts... here and in other forums, I can't remember your problem anymore.
    I probably won't be able to solve it, but I would like to know what it is, because it's still not fixed.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,029
    Location:
    UK
    Basically Erik, it's copy/update errors.
    First one that went wrong was a update from primary to my external archive of primary, instead of update, it overwrote it. 1 error on the 25th April.

    After sending log was told it was an incomplete block at the end of the archive which had been overwritten by the copy engine because it was considered invalid.
    Told to restore it to verify integrity. It had 34 errors, didn't dare boot to it.

    I have been sent various copy engines to try, 35 errors, 23 errors.
    I even attempted a copy update of primary to a new snapshot 26 errors.

    The last one was a debug copy engine 17 errors.

    The last info I had was that they are sure that the copy engine has appropriate rights, but the call to set the shortname on some files is failing with "access denied".

    I don't know Erik perhaps a full reinstall would be kinder to me.
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Raxco seems not to be in hurry to solve your problem, I couldn't wait that long.
    I hope your harddisks are OK. Did you ever run "chkdsk c: /f " ?
    I would certainly uninstall completely and if you can including all your snapshots. If you boot in your primary snapshot and uninstall FDISR completely, than your primary snapshot will be your actual harddisk.

    Then you disable any automatic defragmentation and all your security softwares.
    Then install FDISR and then create the secondary snapshot and this has to be without errors at top and bottom and then anchor your folder "My Documents"
    Then I would copy/update between both snapshots, this will happen very fast because both snapshot are equal, but it has to be again without errors.

    Then I would create a third snapshot again without errors and if you can more, delete these snapshots, except primary and secondary.
    Then you know at least that everything is working fine on your harddisk.

    I wouldn't start with archiving, because that is something total different.
    First you have to try copy/update on your system partition [C:] and without any errors. Also don't use compressed snapshots in the beginning.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,029
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Erik for the reply, I am going to give Raxco another day then I will have to give it a try.

    When you say disable auto defrag, I have perfect disc 8 but have only run it on demand, (not had it long and only defragged in primary)

    I take it there will be no problem for me reinstalling from the setup exe I downloaded.?

    I am undecided about reinstalling the patch I must admit, as it turned on VSS, I found this so slow and would prefer RSS.

    Will shout to you or Peter when I need help :)
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Danny

    It's obvious you've never had to run a business. There is no way you can make this kind of decision that once made won't effect the people who just purchased it. Did your copy break, mine didn't.

    Grab the money? Come on. How many people "here" are we talking about. I'll bet if they were selling hundreds of copies per week, they wouldn't have done this, but I suspect there biggest market has been here.

    Honesty up front. About what? Make announcement that "Oh we are thinking about no longer selling this product and if we decide that, then we will give everyone a two week notice before making the change"? Come on.

    The real key is will Raxco honor it's support statement, and my bet is they will.

    Pete
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I would just install with the original installation file and no patch and don't touch VSS either. Normally you shouldn't have a problem with VSS.
    Just post when it was wrong and tell us what you did.
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,029
    Location:
    UK
    Explain this sentence for me Erik, not quite sure what you refer to.
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I explained first what to do. As long everything is OK, you don't have to post anything at Wilders. What works fine doesn't interest me.
    Once you get errors, you have to tell me which copy/update gave errors.

    In order to nail a problem, you have to work systematically and we first have to work with normal copy/updates on your system partition [C:]. No compressed snapshot, no archives.
    If VSS doesn't work from the beginning switch to RSS.
     
  14. cthorpe

    cthorpe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    168
    Location:
    Texas
    The issue is that if they are no longer selling the product, there is no reason to think that they will do anything to resolve the support backlog they have. On top of that, they are introducing a new product, and that will cause even more of a support backlog. Furthermore, I hate to say it but not everyone has faith in the Raxco support team. I have emailed them multiple times over the past few months on a very simple question and they have yet to respond. If that's the kind of support my maintainence contract gets me, then sure they will continue offering "support." In my case, I see no reason to consider Raxco's FD-ISR as anything more than an abandoned project. When I get some extra cash on hand, I will very likely purchase one of the other versions from another company.

    Carl
     
  15. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Not bad spm.
    Sometimes I have a habit of saying things a little harshly to get reactions.
    Do I disagree with you? Not really.
    Am I happy I purchased FD-ISR? Definitely.
    Did I get what I paid for? As for the main program, yes.
    But I did pay for a maintenance agreement that only time will tell on.
    I don't have the trust in Raxco that some may have.
    In the business aspect I could'nt see wasting payroll dollars on a product we no longer offer.
    We shall see what Raxco does with this.
    In the mean time, I don't think I'd hold my breath though. :cool:
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    The way I look at it, I got the software I paid for. I got a 20% discount that paid for the $14 support agreement. So basically I paid full price for the software if the support doesn't come through. Heck, we don't need no stinkin' support, we have this forum.:cool:
     
  17. Horus37

    Horus37 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    328

    I'm wondering what software you have that you suspect might cause an incompatibility with FDISR. I've got comodo firewall on my system and it will cause copy errors if you don't unselect "protect registry keys" inside its settings first before doing a copy. I can think of a few other software that willl cause a snapshot copy error. So how about telling us some of the security software you have on your system?

    My problem doesn't sound as harsh as your errors as mine are only desktop icons and no errors showed up in the logs and my computer is running fine.

    I wonder if you could create an empty snapshot and rebuild from scratch slowly? Wonder why they think it's the copy engine itself. If anything I'd go down to a single snapshot and uninstall FDISR and add the latest CCLEANER and run a scan of your registry and see what errors it picks up. CCLEANER Is free and works with FDISR and PD8. You can tweak your registry with it and it has a backup feature so you can undo any changes the registry cleaner does. Just a thought.
     
  18. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    You got a very good point there.
    Some of the people here are probably more knowledgeable then the people at tech support anyway! :D
     
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,029
    Location:
    UK
    Apart from my Avira, Avg antispy, and Superantispyware all of which I have had for quite a while, the only 2 new softwares I have installed recently have been PerfectDisk and OA beta. The beta obviously has risks, however it was about the 20th build that I had tested for them, as regards PD, don't really know enough about it to say if it could cause anything.

    And of course there was the 202 patch.

    As regards ccleaner I have used it daily for 2 years, never had a problem with it.

    Perhaps I will never get to know what caused it.
     
  20. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
     
  21. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    I have used FD-ISR on a system with Avira, SAS, and AVG Antispyware, all disabled for copy/update, and I use CCleaner, so I doubt they are the problem.
     
  22. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I would create a 3th snapshot
    1. with only Windows + FDISR and
    2. without internet connection, you can disable your internet connection via Windows.
    The cleanest way to create this 3th snapshot is an "Empty Snapshot", otherwise you have to copy an existing snapshot and uninstall each software, but that won't be so clean.

    Use that snapshot for all copy/updates with the other snapshots.

    This way you can find out if one of your software is causing the errors.
    If each copy/update runs properly in the 3th snapshot, you know that some software is causing the error.
    If each copy/update causes errors, you know that something is definately wrong and that none of your softwares are causing these errors.

    On my computer I have an off-line snapshot and an on-line snapshot.
    If I copy/update my on-line snapshot to new snapshot, I know in advance that it will cause errors, if I do this in my on-line snapshot.
    If I do the same in my off-line snapshot, I don't have errors, because there isn't any disturbing software.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  23. angus49

    angus49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Hudson,Florida - USA
    I'd like to thank Todd for getting out a pretty quick response, considering all of the pressure we were applying early on. I guess the main question I have, that I have not really had clarified is if Leapingfrog continues developement of FD-ISR and Raxco honors our maintenance agreements, will we continue to get regular updated products through Raxco and if not will Leapingfrog make other arrangements for us to do so?

    I know business is business and things change all of the time. Our concerns however are not unfounded, as many of us have been burned by buying what amounts to alpha or beta products at retail prices and then having the companies "close shop". We all know one case in point, and developement on a couple of others is looking pretty poor. With having to shell out for a lot of renewals every year, I for one can't afford to keep buying software that ends up going nowhere. For now let's see what Leapingfrog will be doing on these issues.

    Ed
     
  24. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings Angus49,

    Thanks for the "thanks"!

    Raxco Software is going to continue to provide top notch support for FirstDefense-ISR and product updates to their current customers. We, Leapfrog Software, will continue to provide Raxco with the latest and greatest as we update our build of the ISR technology.
     
  25. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    I wonder if FD-ISR will run on a cumputer in safe mode, since the absolute minimum is running, this may provide a temporary solution.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.