FasterFox- does it really work?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Mar 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anybody using this extension? Dose it really makes browing faster? I am on dial up and I wonder if it will speed up FF.
    I am reluctant as I think if it really works why it has not been integrated into FF itself. I have already multiple extensions and I hate to add more as it will incraese the loading time of FF. Any benefits/ drawbacks of using this extension?

    Thanks for your views about it.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    you can edit firefox to put the speed increses but fasterfox makes it easier with a easy to use GUI.
    if you put the connections to server to high wilders and other forums and websites might not load properly i found this out with opera connections per connection limit tweaks
    lodore
     
  3. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    For dial-up userso_O:rolleyes: :cautious: ...sad to say it doesn't work and it only can adds up to "heaviness" of Firefox. I've tried this using different mode on fasterfox but still instead of making my dial up to speed up it even further slowed down. :oops: :ouch:

    Better use the TuneUp Utilities 2007 built-in Firefox optimize functions, I think it works fine. Or maybe, u can also try the Internet Cyclone....coz I felt they work more better than fasterfox. ;)

    One thing also, if you have Firewalls, then it could also adds up to slowed down ur dial-up speed. Zone Alarm and Outpost is the top that slowed down my net connection, coz its has the "thickest" filter. Better use other firewalls that are lightest, experiment different firewalls...or better yet...you can use the built-in windows firewall coz it has only inbound protections on which most attacks comes from. Coupled it with Windows Worm Doors Cleaners, Harden IT, SafeXP, WinPatrol and common sense....etc....and your dial-up speed will be just fine. :cool: ;)
     
  4. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi aigle, there was a little discussion here.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2007
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,704
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Aigle,

    I've been using FF for several updates, speeds the browser up allot! No Problems!!!:thumb:

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Are u on dial up?
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi all, thanks for the input. I tried but not sure if it gives any speed gain.
    Probably I will remove it as FF is not my main browser anyway.
     
  8. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,704
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi,
    DSL

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    It works on computers of a lesser God. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.