Fast User Switch broken

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by euthymos, Mar 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. euthymos

    euthymos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Dear users,

    Since I've installed NOD32, system's Fast User Switch capability was broken:
    - After clicking on "Fast User Switch", the logon screen appears: OK.
    - But, if I click on a user and type the password, Windows ALWAYS tells me that the password is wrong, for every user I try to logon as. Obviously, CAPS LOCK is disabled (I'm not so ignorant...)!

    If I uninstall NOD32, Fast User Switch is "magically" restored!

    What can I do?
     
  2. euthymos

    euthymos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I've noticed that, simply disabling AMON, the problem does not occour.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    I would send an email to support at eset dot com with a link to this thread.

    If you turn off Amon, you've lost your realtime virus protection.
     
  4. euthymos

    euthymos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Yes, I did.

    Obviously I do know that. I said it only to proof that the problem is NOD32.
     
  5. vujanic

    vujanic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Rivercourt
    Hello,

    I have the same problem in my computer. Any idea?

    Thank you,

    Sasha
     
  6. euthymos

    euthymos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Interesting. Did you recently install Adobe Professional 8?

    Please, contact Technical Support and tell them that you too have this problem. Maybe it's a new virus, a spyware, a keylogger which “alters” keystrokes so that the typed password becomes wrong. This issue has to be taken seriously.

    EDIT: I uninstalled Adobe Acrobat Professional 8, and nothing changed. But, after I've uninstalled Office 2003 "Alternative User Input" component (ctfmon.exe), the problem seems to be solved. There should be something problematic in the interaction between NOD32 and ctfmon.exe.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.