Farstone Giveaway & Fire-Sale

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Cruise, Nov 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
  2. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
  3. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    do restore it or any of the other farstone apps need hardware fingerprinting or online activation ? and how do these compare to other similar progs for protection effectiveness
     
  4. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone know if Total Recovery Pro will create a single image file?
    The older versions (ver. 6) split image files into 2GB sizes.
     
  5. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Hi garry :)

    Actually, I am using RestoreIT 2014 currently on Windows 7.

    Indeed, activation is done online and it appears it is tied to your MAC address (media access control) network adapter identifier number. Activation is quick and simple, and if you uninstall RestoreIT, it will deactivate just as simply, to remove the activation from your machine you are uninstalling from. This allows you to install to another machine, for instance, if you only have one license because deactivation opens up the license code for another machine. Activation and deactivation are very simple, no hassles with them in my experience.

    Not sure about their other products, but I am pretty sure very similar type of activation is done with them, likely also tied to a MAC address as that appears to be their method of activation system.

    Hope that helps! :)

    Jim
     
  6. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Hi tim :)

    I am sure it does as long as the storage medium file system is NTFS. Perhaps the reason version 6 of TRP cut at 2GB was because the file system of the storage device was FAT32?...or it was set that way within its options?

    I know Total Recovery Pro version 7 created one large file as long as storage media was formatted NTFS which generally external drives are all NTFS formatted.

    TRP is now at version 9.2 I think.

    Hope that helps :)

    Jim
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo tried it a few times and just dont like it. i find it to be very heavy on the system did not all the stuff installed everywhere either. much simpler and lighter options out there for not much more money than this sale imo.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.