Faronics Anti-Virus coming soon.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Osaban, Mar 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,665
    It looks like the antivirus business is thriving rather than dwindling. Even Faronics are about to launch their own, and apparently it'll integrate perfectly with DeepFreeze and Anti-Executable.

    http://www.faronics.com/html/Anti-Virus.asp
     

    Attached Files:

  2. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    692
    The Scan Progress looks like SunBelt:rolleyes:

    Maybe it uses Sunbelt OEM engine:D
     
  3. NobleT

    NobleT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    58
    the same feeling:D ~~expect it!
     
  4. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Marketing hype aside,Faronics,as we all know is a old and honorable concern.
    That may not mean they can develop a credible AV engine,but they should at least be able to license one.
     
  5. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    VIPRE Clone...:eek:
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,105
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    From the displayed detections, it seems the product is using the Kaspersky engine. If the prices are right, it might be a good product :)
     
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    A logical progression for them I think, adding an av means they offer an all round solution.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,665
    I'm not really interested in the AV, but I agree DeepFreeze + AE + AV will make a public computer difficult to hack.
     
  9. faronics

    faronics Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    This weekend we have gone through a major website upgrade and a number of absolute links got broken in the process.

    The appropriate link for Faronics Anti-Virus is:
    http://www.faronics.com/av

    I am sorry for any inconvenience.

    As for Faronics Anti-Virus, those of you who suspected that we are working with Sunbelt on this project are right.:)

    Sunbelt provides the engine. Deployment, management and reporting is done though Faronics Core.

    With Faronics Anti-Virus, we will be able to offer all three layers of the Layered Security Approach we are advocating:
    - Anti-Virus for blacklisting
    - Anti-Executable for application whitelisting
    - Deep Freeze as the ultimate safety net

    I will try to respond to any inquiries, feel free to PM me for further details or regarding any Faronics related issues.

    Cheers,

    Dmitry Shesterin
    Vice President, Marketing
    Faronics
    Toll Free: 800-943-6422 ext. 4039
    Fax: 604-357-1-357

    Intelligent Solutions for Absolute Control
    www.faronics.com
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,974
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    SO... Sunbelt is making the AV engine or is that the firewall portion? A kaspersky engine with sunbelt firewall would be pretty sweet. I used to love sunbelts firewall. Sounds interesting at least. Can't wait to try it out.
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,974
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Never mind that last comment. It doesn't have a firewall.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,692
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    o_O I'm surprised they would commit to an AV engine that hasn't undergone much testing.
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,488
    Maybe they did their own testing :D

    Hahaha nvm
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,692
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  15. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Nice, but I am using something very close to it already.

    Shadow Defender
    Zemana ( I suspect closely related to Vipre as well )
    Malwarebytes'
    Acronis

    Plus an on demand scanner: a-squared.
    :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.