Faronics Anti-Virus coming soon.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Osaban, Mar 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,220
    It looks like the antivirus business is thriving rather than dwindling. Even Faronics are about to launch their own, and apparently it'll integrate perfectly with DeepFreeze and Anti-Executable.

    http://www.faronics.com/html/Anti-Virus.asp
     

    Attached Files:

  2. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    The Scan Progress looks like SunBelt:rolleyes:

    Maybe it uses Sunbelt OEM engine:D
     
  3. NobleT

    NobleT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    58
    the same feeling:D ~~expect it!
     
  4. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Marketing hype aside,Faronics,as we all know is a old and honorable concern.
    That may not mean they can develop a credible AV engine,but they should at least be able to license one.
     
  5. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    VIPRE Clone...:eek:
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    From the displayed detections, it seems the product is using the Kaspersky engine. If the prices are right, it might be a good product :)
     
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    A logical progression for them I think, adding an av means they offer an all round solution.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2010
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,220
    I'm not really interested in the AV, but I agree DeepFreeze + AE + AV will make a public computer difficult to hack.
     
  9. faronics

    faronics Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    This weekend we have gone through a major website upgrade and a number of absolute links got broken in the process.

    The appropriate link for Faronics Anti-Virus is:
    http://www.faronics.com/av

    I am sorry for any inconvenience.

    As for Faronics Anti-Virus, those of you who suspected that we are working with Sunbelt on this project are right.:)

    Sunbelt provides the engine. Deployment, management and reporting is done though Faronics Core.

    With Faronics Anti-Virus, we will be able to offer all three layers of the Layered Security Approach we are advocating:
    - Anti-Virus for blacklisting
    - Anti-Executable for application whitelisting
    - Deep Freeze as the ultimate safety net

    I will try to respond to any inquiries, feel free to PM me for further details or regarding any Faronics related issues.

    Cheers,

    Dmitry Shesterin
    Vice President, Marketing
    Faronics
    Toll Free: 800-943-6422 ext. 4039
    Fax: 604-357-1-357

    Intelligent Solutions for Absolute Control
    www.faronics.com
     
  10. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    SO... Sunbelt is making the AV engine or is that the firewall portion? A kaspersky engine with sunbelt firewall would be pretty sweet. I used to love sunbelts firewall. Sounds interesting at least. Can't wait to try it out.
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Never mind that last comment. It doesn't have a firewall.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    o_O I'm surprised they would commit to an AV engine that hasn't undergone much testing.
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Maybe they did their own testing :D

    Hahaha nvm
     
  14. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  15. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    Nice, but I am using something very close to it already.

    Shadow Defender
    Zemana ( I suspect closely related to Vipre as well )
    Malwarebytes'
    Acronis

    Plus an on demand scanner: a-squared.
    :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.