False positive?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by LesCozannet, Dec 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LesCozannet

LesCozannet Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to the product (Smart Security) and I just scanned my external drive (the LIFELINE of everything I own!) as a matter of habit, and suddenly ESET is detecting this:

K:\S\Setup files\Camstudio.exe - a variant of Win32/SoftonicDownloader.A potentially unwanted application

After unsuccessfully googling whether or not Win32/SoftonicDownloader.A is a virus or not, I decided to come here. The little I've found could indicate that it's a PUP but not necessarily a virus. This is software I've had for years, meaning the particular install file that ESET detected, and no antivirus before that ever classified it as a PUP. It's been 'clean' for years. However, since I recently lost a computer to a backdoor virus, I want to be extra careful, even to a paranoid extreme. This is a new computer, and I would like to bring CamStudio back in, but the above message is worrying me. Can someone please help?

Thanks,
    Les.

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

This is not FP, it's detection of a potentially unwanted application which is an optional detection and users enable or disable it deliberately.

3. LesCozannet

Thanks, so ESET has no plans to take Softonic off their black list then, I assume? This is quite misleading because most of us are not savvy enough to assume/know what you just explained...

4. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

I reckon it's a download wrapper so the detection as PUA is ok. There should be a link "Why ESET has detected this file" in the yellow notification window which gives more details about the detection.

5. LesCozannet

Thanks, Marcos, but I can't find anything yellow notification area anywhere...can you direct me perhaps to what area I'm supposed to look for it in?