False positive Toolbar.exe ??

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Alith, Mar 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    False positive?

    Ran a command line scan of C drive. Had downloaded latest version of Nero
    version 7.7.51 into my C\download folder and it was flagged as
    Toolbar.exe a varient of Win32/Adinstaller application.

    Then there was an error putting it in quarantine, so the file was deleted.

    o_O
     
  2. uc-icq

    uc-icq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    129
    Heard of this before. According to Nero developer, this is a false positive. If so, I can't see why this issue hasn't been addressed yet for so long. o_O

    I'm not sure if Nero installs fine in safe mode, but it may be worthwhile if you desperately need run it right now
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Toolbars are usually classified either as adware/spyware/riskware or potentially unwanted programs. Disabling the appropriate option in the AMON / on-demand scanner setup should help, but it's not recommended you do so.
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    No....it is not an FP IMHO....it is informing you about the Ask toolbar....formerly the AskJeeves folks :rolleyes:

    Semi recent thread....Latest NERO 7.7.5.1 embedded threat?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    +1 with Marcos and Bubbas... I'll consider any toolbars which are installed within a application which has nothing to do with any searchengines as adware
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I consider all popular toolbars "spy stuff" . If you read their EULAs ... , you'll probably get like that -> :eek:
     
  7. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Thank you guys for all the info. Guess I'll have to redownload Nero and install it before NOD32 scans again. I'll be watching for that option to not get the ask toolbar.

    Just out of curiosity, how do you exclude a file from a scan?
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    We don't because it is impossible to exclude something from On-Demand scan.

    For real time protection , AMON->Setup->"Exclusions" tab :thumb:
     
  9. Alith

    Alith Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Posts:
    69
    Good to know. Thanks.
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No problem.You are welcome ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.