False Positive Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dews, Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    This drives me nuts, the avira antivir is showing that the file " hotkeycontrol.exe " is a virus, but i am100% sure it is a False Positive because i bought this program 7 month's ago and alot of milion people use this software to scroll down and up the volume in their Laptop's because it's easier to choose with which button you self want to do it.

    Avira says: TR/ATRAPS.Gen

    Can anyone confirm ?

    the legal software is on: http://www.inchwest.com/
     
  2. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Hi,you should go to here and upload the file(s). This gives Avira the possibility to check the files and correct the detections if the file(s) are clean.
     
  3. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    well i did that yesterday, i uploaded it and now today it seem nothing happend's,
    3 days of fixing one false positive file for avira this is something new to me,
    they always add and fix within hours,
    but i will wait and see what they e-mail me back.
     
  4. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Did you reported this on Avira support forum?
    Maybe they can speed things up or you just have to be patient and wait for that e-mail.
     
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    In week-ends Avira is a little bit "lazy".
    Wait till Monday or Tuesday.
     
  6. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    Don't have time to register and post there eather, i already sent the file thru quarantine yesterday and today to their e-mail support virus avira com ,
    so we will wait til tomorrow, and i could not add the file to rar so i uploaded to rapidshare and sent the site with the Link to the file.
     
  7. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    What about uploading it to Virustotal ?
     
  8. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    i did it and "only" Avira found: TR/ATRAPS.Gen
    no other antivirus find the file as infected not even suspected.
    I know for 100% sure this file is False Positive , because it is legit and manny people use it they bought their software,
     
  9. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    This software appears old, but doesn't appear that popular. See the Norton File Insight details
     

    Attached Files:

  10. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But your norton says that the file is good even as it is only detected by avira only.

    @ dews
    why not try to submit to multiple vendors like kaspersky they give you fast response about potential FP or malware.
     
  11. dews

    dews Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Miami .....
    I knew it was a false positive for 100% sure look what they wrote to me >

    Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for your recent inquiry. We could not find a virus. This is a false positive. We will take out the pattern recognition in one of our next updates. We thank you for your assistance.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.