"failed to read from the sector..." issue

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by oceans777, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oceans777

    oceans777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I am using the latest version 9.0 build 2,337 as a clean install in Windows XP Pro and am getting multiple "failed to read from the sector errors" when I start True Image and it analyzes my FireWire-attached, Maxtor Personal Storage 5000 drive. (160GB, dual interface - 1394 & USB)

    Even though no other data or software have ever had any issue with the drive I tried:
    -- different 1394 cable
    -- running chkdsk with /f /v switches (no errors)
    -- full sector scan - no errors or bad blocks
    -- re-install of Acronis
    -- complete format of the Maxtor (not quick format)
    -- banging head on wall in frustration that imaging software is STILL a
    battle to use with common, widely-used external drives.

    None of this resolved the problem.

    I changed to the USB interface and it worked with no errors or problems. True Image scanned the partition quickly and made the Maxtor available for the backup without any complaints.
    Note that this is on the same partition (after reformat) that True Image failed
    on FireWire.

    In device manager the Maxtor is set to "Optimize for quick removal" for USB and "Optimize for performance" on FireWire. Maybe that's a clue - I am not changing what works finally to test it.

    It's a shame Acronis can't solve this because I'm even hearing tech shows on TV and radio complain they have widely had this issue when testing or using True Image.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello oceans777,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Acronis True Image 9.0 supports FireWire so we need to investigate the issue.

    Could you please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists?

    If the problem still persists then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file.

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  3. oceans777

    oceans777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    I would be pleased to assist Acronis with the requested information.

    All you'll need to do is purchase one of my reasonably priced Per-Bug Assistance
    packages ($29.99) which will allow me to give your support request top priority.

    Feel good about this expenditure as it is a mere fraction of my standard
    hourly rate and fails to compensate me at all for the four hours consumed
    yesterday by this aging issue. Much less the annoyance of doing so
    right after purchasing your software.

    I will forward my secure, online payment URL to you and I look forward to working together for a solution!
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello oceans777,

    First of all, please be aware that when Acronis True Image 9.0 is running from under Windows it utilizes standard Windows drivers and so works with almost any storage devices Windows can recognize. That is why this issue is most likely related to your particular hardware configuration and requires a deeper investigation.

    Please also note that there is no need for us to purchase any "Per-Bug Assistance packages", since we have our own Testing Team which can find the actual reason for this particular issue without any outside assistance.

    If installing the latest version of Acronis drivers does not help and you want us to proceed with the investigation of the problem you encounter then please provide us with the following information (please do it for free, since as I have already pointed above we are not going to purchase any "Per-Bug Assistance packages"):

    - Enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file;

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    Please keep your external hard drive connected via 1394 cable while creating Acronis Report and Windows System Information;

    - Provide the exact text of the error message you have received;

    - When exactly have you received this error message?

    - Clarify whether the error message you receive always shows the same sector numbers or the value varies from time to time;

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the information confirming your purchase of Acronis software (copy of invoice, scan copy of receipt, order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  5. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks

    I feel your pain! I'd like to levy a similar charge to my doctor who invariably makes me wait over an hour past my appointment time. I am new to TI and haven't had to use it to restore an image. But I must admit that I'm chewing my nails a bit looking over my shoulder and waiting for the other shoe to drop. (I come from Norton Ghost 2000/2001 where since 1999, I had never experienced a corrupt image or a failed restoration.) God I hope TI9 works. :cool:
     
  6. hox

    hox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    This is a great response to Acronis. I appreciate the senitments here. This program was touted by several mags as being great, I personally feel it is very buggy.
     
  7. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    This is the Acronis support forum. Please feel free to start a thread with your legitimate suport issue and follow through with such. As this thread has taken obvious turns showing that participants are not working on support issues, it will be closed now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.